Find Articles, Books, and eBooks
- Journals & eJournalsSearch for journals in a variety of languages by title and by category. The Philosophy Journal category can be further differentiated into the study of aesthetics, ethics, logic, and speculative philosophy.
- Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowFull text selected scholarly journal articles and professional news in world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Mostly full text PDFs, or with links to Northeastern-subscribed journals.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowSelected e-books in the Cambridge Histories series. Stable links to PDFs of books and book chapters can be put in Canvas, email, or other sharing with the Northeastern community. Printing: one chapter at a time
- Philosopher's Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowauthor-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.
- Cambridge Core Philosophy CollectionCambridge Core provides a range of high-quality ebooks by distinguished authors to readers at both student and specialist levels. All periods and sub-areas of philosophy are covered, and the list is particularly strong in the history of philosophy.
- Oxford Reference Online - PhilosophyPhilosophy on Oxford Reference is continually expanding, created under the authorship or editorship of recognized experts. Articles and ebooks are available.
- ACLS Humanities Ebook CollectionThe American Council of Learned Societies Humanities Ebook Collection is a collection of over 5,700 scholarly books, from over 125 publishers, sold as a subscription package to over 800 library subscribers. ACLS HEB is a collection curated by scholars for scholars; members of ACLS learned societies nominate books for inclusion, and Michigan Publishing licenses them and pays royalties to contributing publishers.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, including religion, literature, philosophy, cultural studies, women's studies, film and the arts.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOne of the most trusted sources for scholarly books and historical journal backfiles. Beginning in 2023, JSTOR also includes Artstor images of art and primary source artifacts.
Online Collections
- PhilPapers This link opens in a new windowCombines peer-reviewed scholarly works with news, trending articles, alerts, and author-contributed papers in philosophy. Includes citing works (forward citation).
- Philosophy TalkPhilosophy Talk is a public radio program and podcast. Known as “the program that questions everything—except your intelligence” Philosophy Talk challenges listeners to question their assumptions and to think about things in new ways.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowEnyclopedic entries and annotated bibliographies with reviews of seminal books across a wide variety of subjects. Northeastern users have access to: Anthropology, Art History, Communication, International Relations, Latino Studies, Philosophy, and Public Health.
- Encyclopedia of American Studies (Johns Hopkins University Press) This link opens in a new windowCovers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present.
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy by ISBN: 9780198735304Publication Date: 2016-05-01The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy covers every aspect of philosophy with clear and concise definitions. Entries include over 400 biographies of influential philosophers, in-depth analysis of philosophical terms and concepts, and a chronology of philosophical events stretching from 10,000 BC to the present day.
The Shorter Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by ISBN: 9780203086711Publication Date: 2005-11-29The Shorter REP presents the best of the ten volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy in a single volume. It makes a selection of the most important entries and covers all you need to know about philosophy, from Aristotle to Wittgenstein and animals and ethics to scientific method.
- Internet Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.