History - Global : Latin America

Compiled by Rice University. Contains 94 original primary sources digitized accompanied by English translation.

The cornerstone of this collection is a two-volume, 400-plus page document by CIA Staff Historian Jack Pfeiffer consisting of (Volume I) the CIA Inspector General's (IG) Report on the CIA's ill-fated April 1961 attempt to overthrow the Fidel Castro regime in Cuba by means of a covert paramilitary operation, otherwise known as the Bay of Pigs, and (Volume II), a commentary on the IG report. The remainder of the collection is comprised of various documents; more may be added in the future as additional documents are subjected to ongoing review.

Declassified Documents from 1975 Reveal Secret U.S.-Cuban Negotiations for Exhibition Games

More than 2,500 items including oral histories and photographs pertaining to the mid-20th century Mexican guest worker initiative

Speeches and interviews dating from 1959 to 1996 transcribed and translated into English

The bulk of the ephemera currently found in the Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera was originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards. These items were originally created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities. The vast majority are rare, hard-to-find primary sources unavailable elsewhere.

Documents Harvard-University-sponsored expeditions and discoveries from 1636 to 1956. Maps, photographs, journals.

Digitized manuscript documents from the Lataste Estate, a sugar plantation in Grenada, West Indies, dating from 1737-1845. Most documents in English, several in French.

From the University of New Hampshire, reproductions of botanical drawings, sketches, photographs, and more.

Maps, images, recordings, photographs, and other materials including information on Hispanic Americans in the United States.

A scholarly blog devoted to developments in Mayan epigraphy with links to primary and secondary source materials.

An opportunity to investigate the Mexican American war from the perspective of the British and United States press.

sponsored jointly by the Institute of Commonwealth Studies (ICS) and the Institute for the Study of the Americas (ISA) aiming to improve access to and use of their extensive collections of political ephemera from Latin America and the Caribbean.

Collection of 30 declassified US government documents on the 1968 massacre of student demonstrators
in Mexico City.

With over 300 items digitized for the Latin American region, this collection contains photographs, maps, books and manuscripts and is fully searchable.

“!Zapatistas! contains the full, English language text of every communique published (along with several that were not published, as well as many interviews, letters, and essays) from the Zapatista National Liberation Army (EZLN) from December 31, 1993 through June 12, 1994.”

Executive branch documents from the nineteenth and twentieth centures (Center for Research Libraries)

A collection of resources compiled by Fordham University

Posters, letters, documents, photographs from the 19th and twentieth century Cuba. Includes slavery and property documents, interviews with dissidents and immigrants, maps, business documents, and newsletters.

Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC), a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean area, links to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

This website is a digitization of Nueva corónica y buen gobierno, written in 1615 by a colonial administrator in Chile to advise and warn King Philip III of Spain about the destruction of Inca culture in the Andes. A remarkable 1000 page work with maps and illustrations, digitized by the Royal Library of Denmark. Extensive documentation of the digitization process is also part of the website.

An extended guide to hundreds of websites about Latin America

scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries

On this website, the New York Public Library has digitized its rare books and prints related to the Portuguese and Spanish (Luso-Hispanic) New World. Includes the earliest surviving book printed in the Western Hemisphere, Juan de Zumárraga's Doctrina breve, published in Mexico City in 1543.

The digitized collections of the National Library of Chile, including books, maps, photographs, and documents.

Documents, articles, research articles, and other information about MesoAmerican culture.