Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Get started with Scholar OneSearch
Scholar OneSearch is the best place to look for books and e-books that Northeastern has access to. Search results will include a variety of materials including books (both print and electronic), articles, videos, data sets, and more. There are many useful filters in Scholar OneSearch to help narrow down your results, including a material type filter on the left hand side of the results page.
Tips for using Scholar OneSearch
- Try using the advanced search to specify a subject and author you are interested in at the same time.
- Sign in to Scholar OneSearch to see additional results. Some databases, such as Web of Science, won't allow their results to populate Scholar OneSearch for anyone who is not signed in.
- Use the filters on the left hand side of the search results page. Some of the most popular filters are material type (to limit to a specific type of research such as an e-book or e-journal), author/creator (to see who is prominently publishing in the field), and year (to limit to research in a particular time period).
If we don't have access to an article you need...
Try using Northeastern's Interlibrary Loan system to request books, book chapters, or articles not available at NU. Articles can be delivered electronically.
Encyclopedia of Sustainable Technologies (Elsevier)
Encyclopedia of Sustainable Technologies provides an authoritative assessment of the sustainable technologies that are currently available or in development. Sustainable technology includes the scientific understanding, development and application of a wide range of technologies and processes and their environmental implications. Systems and lifecycle analyses of energy systems, environmental management, agriculture, manufacturing and digital technologies provide a comprehensive method for understanding the full sustainability of processes.
Encyclopedia of the Earth
All about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. Free, fully searchable articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work. Written in non-technical language useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences, 2nd edition
Over 400 encyclopedia articles, each approximately 3000-4000 words in length, with further reading lists and extensive cross referencing on the science of the oceans, including ancillary topics such as ocean technology, law of the oceans, global programs, marine policy, the use of the oceans for food and energy, and the impact of pollution and climate changes.Designed for a wide audience of students, academics, researchers, and professionals. The articles are written at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with the latest technical information.
Encyclopedia of Toxicology (3rd Edition)
The third edition of the Encyclopedia of Toxicology presents entries devoted to key concepts and specific chemicals, and is updated to reflect current advances in the field. It contains new information on nanotoxicology, epigenetics, persistent organic pollutants, computational toxicology and bioinformatics, controversial chemicals, and much more. Along with the traditional scientific entries, new articles focus on worldwide initiatives, the potential health and environmental effects of new technologies, and the societal implications of global legal and regulatory issues.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather
Over 300 entries about the earth's weather and climate processes, including science and history, events, ideas and biographies.