Skip to main content

We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.

Systematic Reviews and Advanced Reviews: Databases for Systematic Reviews

A guide to the methodology of and resources for Systematic Reviews

Databases

You will want to search at least three databases for your systematic review. Three databases alone does not complete the search standards for systematic review requirements. You will also have to complete a search of the grey literature and complete additional hand searches. Which databases you should search is highly dependent on your systematic review topic, so it is recommended you meet with a librarian

Please note that the below lists are not comprehensive of what should or should not be considered for a systematic review. Reach out to a librarian for more information about how to get started with the search portion of your systematic review!

Commonly Used Health Sciences Databases

You will want to search at least three databases for your systematic review. Three databases alone does not complete the search standards for systematic review requirements as you will also have additional searches of the grey literature and hand searches to complete. Which databases you search is highly dependent on your systematic review topic, so it is recommended you meet with a librarian

Cochrane, which is considered the gold standard for clinical systematic reviews, recommends searching the following three databases, at a minimum: PubMed, Embase, and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL).

Please note that the above list is not a comprehensive list of databases that should or should not be considered for a systematic review. Reach out to a librarian for more information about how to get started with the search portion of your systematic review!

Commonly Used Social Sciences Databases

You will want to search at least three databases for your systematic review. Three databases alone does not complete the search standards for systematic review requirements as you will also have additional searches of the grey literature and hand searches to complete. Which databases you search is highly dependent on your systematic review topic, so it is recommended you meet with a librarian

Please note that the above list is not a comprehensive list of databases that should or should not be considered for a systematic review. Reach out to a librarian for more information about how to get started with the search portion of your systematic review!

Does my database have a thesaurus?

Browsing EBSCOhost databases use a thesaurus, notably PsycINFO
EBSCOhost PsycINFO page with APA Thesaurus search box highlighted

 

The Sociological Abstracts Thesaurus is located on the Advanced Search screen:
ProQuest Sociological Abstracts Advanced Search page showwing link to Thesaurus

Commonly Used Education Databases

You will want to search at least three databases for your systematic review. Three databases alone does not complete the search standards for systematic review requirements as you will also have additional searches of the grey literature and hand searches to complete. Which databases you search is highly dependent on your systematic review topic, so it is recommended you meet with a librarian

Please note that the above list is not a comprehensive list of databases that should or should not be considered for a systematic review. Reach out to a librarian for more information about how to get started with the search portion of your systematic review!

Your Librarian

Alissa Link's picture
Alissa Link
Contact:
a.link@northeastern.edu

270 Snell Library
617-373-2458

Looking to Find Systematic Reviews?

There are a number of places to look for systematic reviews, including within the commonly used databases listed on this page. Some other resources to consider are: