Key Resources
Welcome! For additional options, visit our comprehensive list of resources or consult a Subject Librarian, discipline-specific Subject Guide, or NU Law School Library Subject Guide.
- Scholar OneSearchScholar OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, articles, digital media, government publications, and more. To search the NU library catalogs for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.
- GovInfoAuthenticated archival full-text access to essential federal publications from all three branches of government. Includes bills, Congressional publications, regulations, laws, codes, and a variety of other materials.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral SciencesOffers authoritative articles on various aspects of the law. Good for topic overviews.
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of legal studies and public policy. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or use the check for full-text link to locate them!
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is available courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law Library. HeinOnline offers a broad range of legal materials: journal collections, state and federal statutes, codes and court cases, federal regulations, Congressional publications, treaties, foreign legal materials, world constitutions, etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR archives full-text scholarly articles in a number of disciplines, including law and related disciplines. The collection is now being updated to include articles published in recent years as well as book chapters and books.
- Scite.ai This link opens in a new windowAn AI-powered research platform that analyzes and provides citation context for scientific papers, helping researchers evaluate the credibility and impact of scholarly articles. Account registration is necessary for some features.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowSearch federal and state court cases, statutes and codes as well as European Union laws and regulations. Secondary sources include the American Law Reports and the American Jurisprudence encyclopedia, law reviews, journals, and newspapers.
- Tutorials: Find cases and articles in Westlaw (video) or see a PDF version
Notes about Law Libraries
The Law Library is open to members of the Northeastern University community and non-Law affiliates may borrow print materials from the collection.
Please consult the excellent Library Guides created by Law School librarians!
Please note: Snell Library and the Law Library share access to many databases and e-journals. However, a number of Law Library e-resources, including Westlaw and the Law Library's version of Lexis are not available to the larger University community.
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts provides a robust system of Trial Court Libraries located throughout the state (see locations). The Trial Courts offer free onsite access to Lexis, Westlaw, and VitalLaw. Details are available on the Trial Court Library page.
Library Quick Links
- Scholar OneSearchScholar OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, articles, digital media, government publications, and more. To search the NU library catalogs for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.
Key E-Journal Collections
Need more help?
Please e-mail Roxanne Palmatier, library contact for Legal Studies.