Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International Patent Offices
To see if your idea has been
patented abroad, refer to searchable databases made
available from other International Intellectual Property Offices.
Many countries provide free online access to patent collections. Some available databases are:
- European Patent Office (EPO) provides esp@cenet
a network of Europe’s patent databases, and access
to machine translation of European patents for some languages. EPO
recommends these free databases for patent research.
Japan Patent Office (JPO) – provides access to machine translations of Japanese patents.
- World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) provides PATENTSCOPE
® Search Service, a full-text search of published
international patent applications, machine translations for some
documents and a list of international patent databases.
Korean Intellectual Property Rights Information Service (KIPRIS)
State Intellectual Property Office (SIPO) of the People’s Republic of China and China Intellectual Property Net (CNIPR) – These sites provide access to machine translation of Chinese patents.
- Other International Intellectual Property Offices that provide searchable patent databases: Australia, Canada, Denmark, Finland,France, Germany, Great Britain, India, Israel, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland and Taiwan.
For additional search resources, contact the local Patent and Trademark Depository Library, visit the USPTO Public Search Facility or the USPTO Main STIC Library. The staff in the Main STIC Library are experts on foreign patents and able to help the public as needed.
Sources for Patents
Google Patent Search
Covers patents made available by the USPTO from the 1790s to the middle of 2006. Search the full text of U.S. patents; use Advanced Patent Search
to search by various criteria including patent number, inventor, and filing date. Does not include patent applications, international patents, or U.S. patents issued over the last few months. Patents can be downloaded as PDF.
Free Patents Online
Patents available in PDF format. Offers chemical search. Use the SureChem gateway to do a chemical patent search on full text collections for United States, European and world patents.
A free resource available through Patents Online Pty Ltd.
PATENTSCOPE® Search Service enables you to do full-text search in over 1.6 million published international patent applications from the first publication in 1978. Includes 'how to use' videos.
WIPO's (World International Property Organization's) Gateway to Patent Services and Activities.
European Patent Office
European Patent Office (EPO) provides esp@cenet
a network of Europe’s patent databases. This site also provides access
to machine translation of European patents for some languages.
Protecting Intellectual Property Rights
- Stopfakes.Gov -- Toolkits about the Intellectual Property Rights (IPR) environment in various countries.
visit the USPTO Public Search Facility or the USPTO Main STIC Library.
- The staff in the Main STIC Library are experts on foreign patents and able to help the public as needed.