Get Started
Use the links below to navigate this page.
Selected Environmental/Sustainability Agencies and Sites
Selected Environmental/Sustainability Publications and Resources
Selected Environmental/Sustainability Agencies and Sites
- Environmental Protection AgencyBrowse here for a broad range of environmental topics or try some of the EPA sites referenced below.
- EPA Sustainability PagesProvides links to nearly every aspect of sustainability: the Built Environment,Water/Ecosystems/Agriculture, Energy/Environment, and Biofuels.
- EPA Climate Change PagesProvides links to science supporting climate change, health/environmental effects, U.S. policy,"What You Can Do", and other resources.
- Department of Energy, Energy Efficiency PagesIncludes information on energy efficiency in a variety of sectors: residential, business and industry, government, and transportation.
Selected Environmental/Sustainability Publications and Resources
Environmental and sustainability agencies propose rules and regulations, many of which are modified and adopted after a public comment period. GovInfo provides access to both the Federal Register where proposed rule making is announced and the Code of Federal Regulations where final regulations are codified and published.
Regulations.gov is an easy-to-navigate federal site which supports public comment on proposed rule making. This is a useful tool for citizen engagement as well as for teaching purposes. Please be aware that not all federal agencies participate on this site. It may still be necessary to track materials of interest in the Federal Register.
See also the Library's Research Guides for Environment Research Across Disciplines and Environmental Science.
- National Service Center for Environmental PublicationsThis gateway provides access to EPA's collection of digital publications.
- U.S. Geological Survey Science Topic pagesFrom the USGS site, select the Science link and browse a wide variety of resources on the environment and climate change.
Selected Data Sources and Sites
- EPA DataEPA data are organized by topic or location. The latter feature allows users to find relevant information specific to their communities.
- Where to Find EPA DataBy topic or System of Registry. The topic based system includes familiar datasets like Superfund or the Toxics Release Inventory.
- Climate Data Online (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)Provides a wide range of data - marine, local climatological, weather, climate normals, severe weather, etc. Searching across multiple datasets is supported.
- Council on Environmental Quality Climate and Economic Justice Screening ToolThe Council is part of the Executive Office of the President. Data map be downloading from the map site.
Selected NU Library Resources
- InsideEPA.com This link opens in a new windowInsideEPA.com provides news and 10 environmental newsletters: Inside EPA Weekly Report, Climate Extra, Inside PFAS Policy, Inside TSCA, Superfund Report, Clean Air Report, Water Policy Report, Inside Cal/EPA, Risk Policy Report and Environmental Policy Alert.
- E&E News (Politico Pro) This link opens in a new windowUp-to-date news on energy and the environment. Includes EnergyWire, ClimateWire, GreenWire, E&E Daily, and E&E News.
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDrawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE is an informative resource containing nearly 300,000 records, with full text for selected titles, and searchable cited references with library links for more than 200 additional titles
- Compendex & INSPEC This link opens in a new windowCombines a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with a comprehensive database of physics, computer science and electrical engineering research.
