Information Impermanence
As you search for information, save your sources, particularly datasets and government publications. Note the date you were last able to access a source in case it isn’t available later. Check the Internet Archive’s Wayback Machine and other repositories for removed data sources or websites.
Citation managers can help you manage the information you save about your sources. You can reference and cite information that is no longer available where you found it. For these citations, include a last accessed date.
Having trouble finding data or a source? Talk with your subject librarian.
Library Resources
- Data Citation Index (1900 - current) (Clarivate) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts to quality research data from sources around the world in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- MarinLit (Royal Society of Chemistry) This link opens in a new windowMarinLit is a database dedicated to marine natural products research. It contains a comprehensive range of data, along with powerful dereplication features.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowSage Data is a collection of U.S. and international datasets sourced from governmental, commercial, and private organizations. Sage Data allows you to search and browse millions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized exportable charts and tables. Includes the Claritas Consumer Profiles dataset.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowBrings together data and graphs on every imaginable topic from business to government, surveys, sports, and scientific topics. Easy to use, exportable charts and data, recommended citations.
Salvaged Environmental Data
This page will supply you with links to archived United States government data sets related to environmental topics.
As you search for information, save your sources, particularly datasets and government publications. Note the date you were last able to access a source in case it isn’t available later. Citation managers can help you manage the information you save about your sources. You can reference and cite information that is no longer available where you found it. For these citations, include a last accessed date.
- Annual Energy OutlookThe EIA Annual Energy Outlook provides projections of future fuel prices, energy supply and consumption, and carbon dioxide emissions by sector and region.
- CDC AtlasPlusNearly 20 years of CDC's surveillance data on HIV, viral hepatitis, STD, and TB as well as indicators on social determinants of health (SDOH) allowing users to view social and economic data in conjunction with surveillance data for each disease.
- CDC Environmental Justice IndexGitHub repository of the CDC Environmental Justice Index, provided by the Public Environmental Data Partners
- CDC Environmental Justice Index (EJI) County Map Series: Prepared County MapsEJI County Maps offer summary information and visualizations that can provide insights into patterns and drivers of environmental injustice for the most burdened communities in each county. Preserved by the Public Environmental Data Partners
- CDC PLACESPLACES provides health and health-related data using small-area estimation for counties, incorporated and census designated places, census tracts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs) across the United States.
- Climate and Economic Justice Screening ToolVersion 2 of the Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool, released by the Council on Environmental Quality in December 2024. Contains a tutorial on how to use the tool.
- Climate Mirror ProjectAn effort led by volunteers at a variety of academic institutions to preserve copies of U.S. federal climate data
- Commercial Buildings Energy Consumption Survey (CBECS)The Commercial Buildings Energy Consumption Survey (CBECS) is a national sample survey that collects information on the stock of U.S. commercial buildings, including their energy-related building characteristics and energy usage data (consumption and expenditures).
- Council on Environmental Quality’s Climate and Economic Justice Screening Tool (CEJST)This is an unofficial copy of the CEJST Tool. The tool has an interactive map and uses datasets that are indicators of burdens in eight categories: climate change, energy, health, housing, legacy pollution, transportation, water and wastewater, and workforce development. The tool uses this information to identify communities that are experiencing these burdens.
- EPA Risk Management Program DatabaseData from the Risk Management Plans submitted by US facilities handling certain hazardous substances through December 2024
- EPA’s EJScreenAn initial reconstruction of Version 2.3 of the EPA's environmental justice (EJ) screening and mapping tool that utilizes nationally-consistent data to highlight vulnerable communities overburdened by pollution
- Federal Environmental Web Tracker (EDGI)A collection of documented changes to environment-related federal webpages that Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI) team deems noteworthy.
- FEMA National Household SurveyThe National Household Survey (NHS) tracks progress in personal disaster preparedness through investigation of the American public's preparedness actions, attitudes, and motivations.
- FEMA Future Risk IndexA rebuilt version of FEMA’s Future Risk Index. The National Risk Index helps illustrate the United States communities most at risk for 18 natural hazards. It leverages available source data for natural hazard and community risk factors to develop a baseline risk measurement for each United States county and Census tract.
- National Wetlands InventoryThe US National Wetlands Inventory (NWI) is a publicly available resource that provides detailed information on the abundance, characteristics, and distribution of US wetlands.
- Open Energy Data Initiative (OEDI)A centralized repository of datasets aggregated from the U.S. Department of Energy’s Programs, Offices, and National Laboratories
- Public Environmental Data PartnersPreserves and provides public access to federal environmental data.
- U.S. Energy Information AdministrationThe U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
- USDA Organic Program EnforcementOutcomes of investigations spurred by complaints submitted to the USDA’s National Organic Program through early January 2024
Data Resources
Department of Energy Data Explorer (DOE)
Dryad (a nonprofit membership organization)
Earth System Atlas (collaborative effort of a number of universities)
Geodata Portal (USGS)
Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity (NCEAS)
National Centers for Environmental Information (NOAA) -- formerly the National Geophysical Data Center
Pangaea: Data Publisher for Earth and Environmental Science (University of Bremen)
Protocols.io (Repository for methods and protocols in the life sciences.)
UNAVCO Data (Consortium of Non-Profits)
United Nations Earth Science Data (UN)
USGIN.org (US Geoscience Information Network)