Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Additional Databases for Medical Research
This is a list of additional databases and resources for medical research. For key databases for medical research, please click here. For a complete list of databases at Snell Library, click here.
AgeLine focuses on those aged 50+ and issues of aging. Useful for searching for the literature of social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.
full text articles for nearly 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
BMC offers open access, high quality peer-reviewed journals in the fields of biomedicine, physical sciences, mathematics and engineering disciplines.
High quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Includes information on interactions, effectiveness, adverse effects, pregnancy.
Published by the Public Library of Science, PLOS Medicine is an open access and peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles of general interest on biomedical, environmental, social and political determinants of health. The journal emphasizes work that advances clinical practice, health policy or pathophysiological understanding to benefit health in a variety of settings.
PMC was developed and is managed by NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), and is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. PMC makes all content free to read (in some cases, following an embargo period).
Science Direct is the web site for selected journal titles from the scholarly publisher Elsevier and its affiliates. Learn how to download articles directly to your mobile device.
Social Sciences Premium Collection
databases covering the international Collection of databases covering scholarly literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
SpringerLink Online Journals
Selected journal titles, books, reference works and protocols from the scholarly publisher Springer.
Wiley Online Library
International resource for scientific, technical, medical and scholarly articles.
Looking for a Specific E-journal?
Have an Article Citation? Here's How to Find the Full-Text Article
If We Don't Have Access to an Article You Need...
Request articles or books not available at NU through ILLiad our interlibrary loan service. Articles are delivered electronically.
One-time registration is required to request articles not available at NU Libraries.