Research Subject Guides: Sociology : Home

Library Quick Links

Scholar OneSearch Scholar OneSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books, articles, digital media, government publications, and more. To search the NU library catalogs for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.
Ask a Librarian services
Databases A to Z
E-Journal Finder
Citations and Bibliography
Interlibrary Loan
E-book collections
Snell Library Research Guides (research by discipline)
Theses and Dissertations
Writing Center

Related Subject Guides include:

Anthropology

Anti-Racism

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Belonging

International Affairs & Global Studies

Media & Screen Studies

Political Science

ASA Citation

Check the Purdue Owl ASA citation style and the ASA website for ASA Quick Tips for ASA Style

Citations and Bibliographies Guide lists citation management software supported at the Library. Not sure which software to use? There's a comparison chart to help you decide!

What can I do with a sociology degree?

Career Options for Sociology Graduates: Top 10 Tips
from The Best of Guardian Careers

Also, check the Co-op to Career webpage.

Key Resources

Background Information

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd Edition (2015) This link opens in a new window
A source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broad, deep and scholarly. Comprehensive name and subject tagging, signed articles and references.
International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest 2009 (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly signed and referenced articles on people and events in the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years.
Encyclopedia of Global Health (Gale Cengage and Sage) This link opens in a new window
Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
Covers all aspects of global health, including physical/mental health, public policy, biographies of major figures, medical institutions, corporations, and drugs.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System.The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, and more.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, authoritative reports on political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature.
Sage Encyclopedia of Trans Studies This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary and intersectional approach to trans studies. Entries address broad concepts (e.g., the criminal justice system, activism, mental health), and specific subjects (e.g., the trans pride flag, the Informed Consent Model, voice therapy), key historical figures, events, and organizations (e.g., Lili Elbe, the Stonewall Riots, Black Lives Matter).

Search Research Topic

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects
Proquest Sociology This link opens in a new window
Full text articles about sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and more.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals in full text published by Sage, emphasis on the social sciences.
Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links in politics and public policy, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, information sciences and education. Professional society databases included.
Journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, Social Sciences Premium includes

Sociology Database
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
PAIS Index
Political Science Database
PolicyFile
Criminal Justice Database
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Library Science Database
Library & Information Science Abstracts
Education Database
ERIC
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
Linguistics Database
Social Science Database
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Sociology (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in sociology.

Your Librarian

Christine Oka

Email Me

Contact:

270 Snell Library

(617) 373-3316

Subjects: Africana Studies, Anthropology, Asian and Asian American Studies, Human Services, International Affairs and Area Studies, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Sociology

Streaming Video Collections

Academic Video Online (AVON) offers about 79,000 videos of interest to a broad range of disciplines, including topics such as social class, civil rights, the war in Ukraine.

For sociology research, visit the short (10 minutes) video, "Making Friends with Research Methods."

Kanopy provides a broad range of documentaries across the disciplines. See especially the Anthropology, Law & Criminal Justice and Sociology areas.

Docuseek provides academic streaming source for social issue films and documentaries. Check the Subject list for film topics.

Sociology : Home

Sociology