Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Scholar One to search for books, articles, streaming video, streaming music, government publications, and more. To search only the NU library catalog for books, e-books, and other local resources, select the Library Catalogs option in Scholar OneSearch.
The American Economic Association's electronic database and the foremost source of references to economic literature.
Business Source Complete
Despite the word "business," this database includes many articles on economics. Large numbers of in-depth country reports are included.
NU is now a member of Policy Commons! Use this resource to access reports and other materials from IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, government agencies, and academic research centers.
Use PolicyFile to locate reports from over 350 public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities. U.S. and international coverage.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database useful for searching a broad range of topics in the fields of economics public policy, and other social sciences. Many full-text articles are available; click the PDF or the check for full-text link to locate them!
Social Sciences Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including economics, politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
PubMed @ NU
Useful for exploring economics issues from a healthcare perspective.
The Economist is a weekly international news and business publication, offering clear reporting, commentary and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present. (Audio and Apps sections are not included in our subscription.)
Archives of journals in many subject areas, including economics.
Web of Science
The Web of Science is multidisciplinary and provides access to a large collection of peer-reviewed articles and other materials. Valuable for tracing related publications and citations.
Sage Research Methods
Includes the "Little Blue" and "Little Green" books on qualitative and quantitative research as well as the Project Planner, videos, and a broad range of handbooks and other research resources.
SIGN UP!! Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and New York Times
New York Times - Current and archival access to the New York Times. Access requires registration with a Northeastern email address. Once registered, users can log in directly at https://www.nytimes.com.
Wall Street Journal - Individuals must register with a Northeastern or @nchlondon.ac.uk email address to create an individual account. After completing the registration form, you will receive an email prompt to confirm the registration. Once you've provided confirmation and signed into the Journal, your account will be active.
Financial Times - Individuals must register with a Northeastern or @nchlondon.ac.uk email address to create a personal account.
Selected Current News Sources
Hover over the titles for a resource description!
Streaming Video Collections
Academic Video Online (AVON) offers videos of interest to a broad range of disciplines, including significant coverage of economics and labor.
Kanopy provides a broad range of documentaries across the disciplines. See especially the Economics and Globalization category.
Docuseek provides a number of documentaries of interest to economists, including economic history, economic theory, labor studies, economic geography, and globalization.
Resources for Economists on the Internet
Browse Economics Journals