Journals and Magazines
News from Native CaliforniaAlso available in print at F. W. Olin Library Current Periodicals
Databases
You can use Scholar One Search, below or on the library's homepage, to search all the databases at the same time. If this is overwhelming or you need a more focused search, try one of the databases listed below. For more information about how to formulate your search, see the Ethnic Studies Guide page How to Search Ethnic Studies.
- Academic Search CompleteScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects including STEM fields.
- Ethnic NewsWatchInterdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text newspapers, magazines, and journals of American ethnic, minority and indigenous communities. Offers additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
- JSTOROne of the most trusted sources for scholarly books and historical journal backfiles. Most journals include extended historic backfiles and not current issues.
- ProQuest CentralA master database of full text article content from Proquest, including the Newsstreams, ABI/Inform (business articles) and all topical databases.
Archives and Primary Sources
- American Indian Histories and CulturesDigitized primary source material from the Newberry Librarys extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection, dating from the earliest contact with European settlers up to the mid-twentieth century. Includes manuscripts, art work, newspapers, treaties, speeches,diaries, historic maps, and photographs.
- Decolonization: Politics and Independence in Former Colonial and Commonwealth TerritoriesIncludes primary sources related to the complex process of decolonization across 60 former colonial territories and Commonwealth nations in the 20th century with a focus primarily on British colonies after WW2.
- Indigenous/Native American Struggles - The Freedom ArchiveThis collection features materials covering the centuries long struggles of Indigenous Americans to resist European imperialism and maintain their culture and autonomy. Focuses of the collection include Native American political prisoners, documents and recordings from the American Indian Movement (AIM), and the 1992 Tribunal which centered on challenging the 500th anniversary of Columbus "discovering" America.
- Indigenous Digital Archive Treaty ExplorerWhile treaties between Indigenous peoples and the United States affect virtually every area in the USA, there is as yet no official list of all the treaties. The US National Archives holds 374 of the treaties, where they are known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. Here you can view them for the first time with key historic works that provide context to the agreements made and the histories of our shared lands.
- Indigenous Peoples of North AmericaDetails the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge with primary source documents spanning the 16th through the 20th century.
- OAC - Online Archive of CaliforniaOAC is a searchable database of collection guides or finding aids for archives and primary resource collections maintained by over 300 California institutions. Some entries are just the guides to the collections while some entries also include digitized items from the collections.
For help navigating the OAC, please email SpecialCollections-Oak@northeastern.edu or visit Special Collections in the F. W. Olin Library on the Oakland campus.
Not Finding What You Need?
If Northeastern University does not own the book, article, journal or other material you're looking for, you can request a copy for free through Interlibrary Loan.
If you think we should own a book, article, journal or other material, you can Recommend a Purchase.
Please note that F. W. Olin Library is generally not in a position to purchase textbooks.