Introductory Texts
- O'Reilly for Higher Education Ebooks This link opens in a new windowE-books from leading publishers such as Sam's, O'Reilly, Peachpit, and Que plus video, learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books and more. Access requires registration with a Northeastern or NCH email address.
- Introduction to Bioinformatics by How the scientific community looks at molecular biology today is very different from that 50 years ago. During this time technological developments have led to many significant findings that have shook one of the most important foundations of molecular biology: the central dogma. In this chapter, we will mention how these changes occurred and gave birth to a very important field of today’s science, bioinformatics. We will also mention briefly the newest topics of molecular biology regarding bioinformatics technologies and skills.Publication Date: 2019
- Introduction to Bioinformatics by Life in a post-genomic age has the promise to revolutionize our understanding of how our genes shape who we are, how our genome evolved, and how we function. There are new possibilities for an improved quality of life as we exploit new knowledge to design novel, more effective drugs. Central to these possibilities being realized is one of the most important information-gathering, data-mining, and knowledge-building tools in current research and healthcare development: bioinformatics.An Introduction to Bioinformatics introduces students to the immense power of bioinformatics as a set of scientific tools. The book explains how to access the data archives of genomes and proteins, and the kinds of questions these data and tools can answer: how to make inferences from the data archives, to make connections among them, and to derive useful and interesting predictions.Blending factual content with many opportunities for active learning, Introduction to Bioinformatics offers a truly reader-friendly way to get to grips with this subject, making it the ideal resource for anyone new to the field.Online Resource Centre:The Online Resource Centre features the following materials:For lecturers (password protected):· Figures from the book available to download, to facilitate lecture slide preparationFor students:· Web link library of all URLs cited in the book, giving students ready access to these resources · Guided tours of key websites, to help students get the most out of the vast array of information available online· Hyperlinked bibliography - online links to articles referenced in the book, encouraging student engagement with the primary literature · Links to PDB structures of all proteins cited in the book, to enable students to investigate the 3D structures of proteins in a visual, interactive way· Data from the book in computer-readable form, which is available for instant use to facilitate hands-on learning by the student- Guidance to help students answer problems from the text, to support and encourage self-directed learningISBN: 9780199208043Publication Date: 2008-06-02
- Bioinformatics WorkbookA tutorial to help scientists design their projects and analyze their data.
- Bioinformatics Introduction (National Human Genome Research Institute)Open web source from the National Human Genome Research Institute, helpful for terminology
- Bioinformatics by The field of bioinformatics continues to develop energetically. This comprehensive second edition covers new findings using the successful formula of the original text. Bioinformatics: An Introduction is structured into three parts devoted to Information, Biology and Applications. Every section of the book has been thoroughly updated, and expanded where relevant, to take account of significant new discoveries and realizations of the importance of certain concepts. Furthermore new chapters on Algorithms, Data Processing and Biotechnology have been added. Emphasis is placed on the underlying fundamentals and acquisitions of a broad and comprehensive grasp of the field as a whole. This second edition is intended to be a complete study companion for the advanced undergraduate or graduate student. It is self-contained, bringing together the multiple disciplines necessary for a profound grasp of the field into a coherent whole, allowing the reader to gain much insight into the state-of-the-art of bioinformatics.ISBN: 9781848002579Publication Date: 2009-04-29
- Coursera: There are at least two Bioinformatics courses being offered for free from Coursera. One is from UC San Diego and the other is from Peking University.
Practice Examples and Tutorials
- Introduction to Bioinformatics by Bioinformatics is the collective name for a set of skills that has now become arguably one of the most important information-gathering and knowledge-building tools in current science research. The increase in the reliance upon bioinformatics in current research has made it essential for training in these skills to become an integral part of current science education. Introduction to Bioinformatics is a timely and much-needed textbook which provides an accessible and thorough introduction to a subject which is becoming a fundamental part of biological science today.As a pioneer of the use of bioinformatics techniques in research, Dr Lesk brings unrivalled experience and expertise to the study of this field. The aim of the book is to generate an understanding of the biological background of bioinformatics, and to integrate this with an introduction to the use of computational skills. Without describing computer science or sophisticated programming skills in detail, the book supports and encourages the application of the many powerful computational tools of bioinformatics in a way that is both relevant to and stimulating for the reader.The book contains numerous problems and innovative Weblems (for Web-based Problems) to encourage students to engage with the subject and, with the accompanying web site, to develop a working understanding and appreciation of the power of bioinformatics as a research tool.Web site www.oup.co.uk/best.textbooks/biochemistry/bioinf/A logo in the text alerts the reader to check the web site for the full text of programs referred to in the book. The web site also has links related to the book's problems, the innovative Weblems (for Web-based Problems), to encourage students to engage with the subject and, with the web site, to develop a working understanding and appreciation of the power of bioinformatics as a research tool.ISBN: 0199251967Publication Date: 2002-05-09
- Bioinformatics WorkbookA tutorial to help scientists design their projects and analyze their data.
- Introduction to Bioinformatics and Computational BiologyFree open web course from Harvard University that contains labs for practicing concepts taught in the course
Software
Software
“Computer Tools to Analyze Microarray Data” (2019; open the link from the catalog and scroll down to the chapter)
Overview of tools used for microarray data
Additionally, the library contains resources to help support software, including guides for programs like R.