Full text of 26 magazines, chiefly from the US, covering LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender) interests. Covers more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community.
For cultural studies, current events, political aspects, and all interdisciplinary topics:
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects including STEM fields.
Use this link for additional video content from the Associated Press in search results.
GenderWatch (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowFull articles from women's studies magazines and newsletters (including some that are hard to find in print), as well as some scholarly journals. Some articles go back to the 1970's.
Academic OneFile (Gale Cengage)This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, the majority in full text or with links to full text. Includes higher education news sources. Interdisciplinary in scope.
Communications & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowCitations to scholarship in areas related to communication and mass media, including new media, rhetoric, film, broadcasting, and more. Links to full text where available.
PsycInfo (EBSCOhost)This link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychological Associations flagship PsycINFO database includes citations and abstracts of peer reviewed articles, books, and dissertations. Coverage from 1888 to the present. Full text links where available.
Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
For sociological aspects:
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database of books, articles, and dissertations in sociology and related disciplines, from 1952 to the present. International in scope, links to full text.
For health aspects:
Health and Medicine (Gale Cengage)This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news in health and medicine, the majority of content is full text. Some images and video content.
Courtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
Current and historic biographies with links to full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers. Search by name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender. Some obituaries.
Enyclopedic entries and annotated bibliographies with reviews of seminal books across a wide variety of subjects. Northeastern users have access to: Anthropology, Art History, Communication, International Relations, Latino Studies, Philosophy, and Public Health.