Welcome!
Welcome! This is a guide to online and print resources on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning, and queer people, gender expression, and sexual identity.
Find research databases and topic suggestions; browse LGBTQ books at Snell Library; find information on coming out, LGBTQ history, transgender and nonbinary identities; and locate supportive resources at NU and beyond.
Need support? Check out the LGBTQA Resource Center at Northeastern to connect with the LGBTQA community.
Key resources for article searching:
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects including STEM fields.
Use this link if you want to include video clips (Opens in new window) from the Associated Press in your search results. - GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull articles from women's studies magazines and newsletters (including some that are hard to find in print), as well as some scholarly journals. Some articles go back to the 1970's.
- PsycARTICLES (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles in psychology and related fields
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database of books, articles, and dissertations in sociology and related disciplines, from 1952 to the present. International in scope, links to full text.
- Health and Medicine (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news in health and medicine, the majority of content is full text. Some images and video content.
Digital Transgender Archive at Northeastern
Digital Transgender Archive -- the purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) at Northeastern University is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. About the Digital Transgender Archive
Primary Sources
LGBTQA Collections at Northeastern
- LGBTQA Collections at NortheasternArchives and Special Collections
Read more about the Archives and Special Collections
(Search catalog of collections; find hours, location, etc)
LGBTQ articles at Northeastern
Celebrate pride month with this playlist of queer anthems
Here's your guide to resources for Northeastern's LGBTQA community
There’s a lot to be proud of at Northeastern’s COVID-19 testing centers
The old, the new, and the "spaghettification" of the LGBTQA+ community
LBGTQ students have specific questions about entering the workforce. These people have some answers
Loud and proud: Your Pride playlist
Students tackle public health, climate change, LGBT rights on Alternative Spring Break
Cutting through the ‘illusion of more inclusiveness’ with LGBTQ representation in the media
LGBTQ Support on Campus
For educators, health professionals and LGBTQ students:
Podcast
[I'M] Possible Podcast. -- from the LGBTQA Resource Center at Northeastern
"Welcome to the [I’M]Possible Podcast! A space dedicated to holding conversations surrounding identity in the workplace and how to build a resilient future fueled by individual passion and purpose. Across our episodes, we chat about the symbiosis of work and identity in a global context, as well as address the elephant in the room that is on every professional’s mind: “how can I build the life that I want?”. Through intimate discussions drawing upon the backgrounds and experiences of an eclectic troupe of professionals from all scopes of life and identities, we cultivate a diversified perspective on how you can embrace and honor thyself, your potential, and your ability to achieve a future that is personal and defined by you."