LGBTQIA Studies : Nonfiction-- society and culture

Lambda Literary Award finalist. American Library Association Stonewall Honor Book. In the summer of 2009, butch writer and storyteller Ivan Coyote and gender researcher and femme dynamo Zena Sharman wrote down a wish-list of their favourite queer authors; they wanted to continue and expand the butch-femme conversation. It's a raucous, insightful, sexy, and sometimes dangerous look at what the words butch and femme can mean in today’s ever-shifting gender landscape, with one eye on the past and the other on what is to come.

Impassioned and provocative, Another Country expands the possibilities of queer studies beyond its city limits. Herring leads his readers from faeries in the rural Midwest to photographs of white supremacists in the deep South, from Roland Barthes’s obsession with Parisian fashion to a graphic memoir by Alison Bechdel set in the Appalachian Mountains, and from cubist paintings in Lancaster County to lesbian separatist communes on the northern California coast.

Popular culture has recognized urban gay men's use of the web over the last ten years, yet to date, the relationship between urban gay male culture and digital media technologies has received only limited critical attention. Gaydar Culture fills this gap by offering a timely intervention into the fields of digital media studies, cultural studies and the study of gender and sexuality.

Video. In October 1998, 21 year-old Matthew Shepard was found savagely beaten, tied to a fence and left to die in Laramie, Wyoming. This film is a dramatization of a town forced to confront itself in the reflective glare of the national spotlight, responding with love, anger, sympathy, support, and defiance.

In postwar America, the discourse of Momism advanced the idea that an over-affectionate or too-distant mother hampers the social and psychosexual development of her children, in particular her sons. Deemed worst of all was the outcome of homosexuality, since the period saw an intense policing of sexual deviance.

Mignon R. Moore brings to light the family life of a group that has been largely invisible--gay women of color--in a book that challenges long-standing ideas about racial identity, family formation, and motherhood. Drawing from interviews and surveys of one hundred black gay women in New York City,Invisible Families explores the ways that race and class have influenced how these women understand their sexual orientation, find partners, and form families.

Queer Commoditiesis the first study of same-sexuality and consumer capitalism in contemporary US fiction. Drawing upon a diverse range of novels by Edmund White, Samuel Delany, Jane DeLynn, Lynn Breedlove, and Michelle Tea, Guy Davidson proposes that while gay and lesbian subcultures are necessarily commodified, they also provide means of subversively negotiating aspects of life under capitalism.

Harvey Milk was one of the first openly and politically gay public officials in the United States, and his remarkable activism put him at the very heart of a pivotal civil rights movement reshaping America in the 1970s. "An Archive of Hope" is Milk in his own words, bringing together in one volume a substantial collection of his speeches, columns, editorials, political campaign materials, open letters, and press releases, culled from public archives, newspapers, and personal collections.

When has using the term "lesbian" not been considered an anachronistic gesture? This question lies at the heart of this important new collection of essays. This provocative book offers a radical new methodology for writing theories and histories of sexuality.

Not in This Family shows how kinship ties were an animating force in gay culture, politics, and consciousness throughout the latter half of the twentieth century. Starting in the late 1940s and 1950s, Not in This Family covers the entire postwar period, including the gay liberation and lesbian feminist movements of the 1960s and 1970s, the establishment of PFLAG (Parents, Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays), and the AIDS crisis of the 1980s and 1990s.

"'We'll Show You You're a Woman' documents the violence and abuse faced by working-class South African black lesbians, transgender men, and gender non-conforming people, detailing the everyday climate of fear and impunity within which they must attempt to negotiate their safety.... South Africa already has in place many laws and policies to address sexual violence and discrimination; what is sorely lacking is effective implementation of those provisions. The report concludes with recommendations to specific ministries and departments of the South African government aimed at better safeguarding the rights and safety of lesbians and transgender men."--P. [4] of cover

This brave and moving collection of stories by South African lesbian women from different backgrounds reminds us, again, that rights are never finally won in legislatures or in court rooms. They are won by people exercising them. The authors of the stories and poems in this book have done just that. They have stood up to celebrate the dignity of lesbian women in South Africa. Each contribution is different. And each intensely personal. And each one reminds us of the urgent need for us to stop hate crime and to create a safe society for all LGBT South Africans.

Japan's first professionally produced, commercially marketed and nationally distributed gay lifestyle magazine, Barazoku ("The Rose Tribes"), was launched in 1971. Publicly declaring the beauty and normality of homosexual desire, Barazoku electrified the male homosexual world whilst scandalising mainstream society, and sparked a vibrant period of activity that saw the establishment of an enduring Japanese media form, the homo magazine.

Sheds valuable light on the ways in which locally distinctive sensibilities articulate with regional, national, and transnational discourses bearing on the making of gender and sexual identities among Indonesia's Minangkabau.

Transgender Migrations brings together a top-notch collection of emerging and established scholars to examine the way that the term "migration" can be used not only to look at the way trans bodies migrate from one gender to the (an?) other, but the way that trans people migrate in the larger geopolitical contexts of immigration reform, the war on terror, the war on drugs, and the increased policing of national borders.

"In 2007 the Kuwaiti parliament outlawed 'imitating the opposite sex,' paving the way for police to arbitrarily detain, torture, and sexually harass and abuse transgender women in Kuwait with impunity. This report documents the abuse, violence, and persecution faced by transgender women at the hands of the police as well as the discrimination they face on a daily basis as a result of this law"--P. [4] of cover.

Dense living conditions in Hong Kong do not provide much privacy for lesbians and other sexual minorities living with their families. As a result, lesbians often locate alternative spaces to develop support networks with other women. Others reject the notion of lesbian spaces and instead assert their visibility in different aspects of everyday life. Based on life history interviews with several dozen lesbians living in Hong Kong, this book maps the complex relations between personal subjectivities and spatialities as they emerge and interact with various social justice movements and alternative communities. Denise Tse-shang Tangis assistant professor at the Graduate Institute for Gender Studies, Shih Hsin University in Taiwan.