All Newspaper Databases
- A-Z News Database ListBrowse the list of all news and newspaper databases available through the library.
Historical Newspapers
Use ProQuest Historical Newspapers to access the following publications
- Atlanta Daily World 1931-2003 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowNewspaper from Atlanta, GA, reflecting the voice of the Black American community.
- Baltimore Afro-American 1893-1988 (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowA newspaper published in Baltimore, Maryland that reflects the voice of its Black community.
- Boston Globe (1872-present) (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowHistorical and current access to the Boston Globe, one of two major daily newspapers in Boston. Link to the most recent issue.
- Chicago Defender: 1910 - 1975 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowFully digitized African American newspaper Chicago Defender from 1910 to 1975.
- Chicago Tribune (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThe historical Chicago Tribune collection offers both full page and article digital images in PDF format with searchable full text. (1849-1988).
- Los Angeles Sentinel 1934-2005 (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowA newspaper published in Los Angeles, CA, that reflects the voice of its Black community.
- New York Amsterdam News: 1922-1993 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowA weekly newspaper published in New York that reflects the voice of its Black community.
- Pittsburgh Courier: 1911-2002 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowA newspaper published in Pittsburgh, PA that reflects the voice of its Black community.
Most ProQuest Historical Newspapers include images, photographs, and advertisements. You can view the full text of the article or select page view to view the article in its original layout.
Additional newspaper databases
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
- Times of London Digital Archive (Gale Cengage) 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowAlso known as the London Times. Access not including the Sunday edition from 1785. An invaluable source for primary historical research on Great Britain and its interests.
Websites for historical newspapers
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Current Newspapers
- Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new windowOur largest general news source, with current and complete newspapers, magazines, wire services from around the world. Backfiles sometimes go back to the 1980s. Text only.
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowPressReader provides online access to today's newspapers from over 100 countries around the world in over 60 languages in a full-color, full-page format. This is a 90 day archive. PressReader can also be accessed via email registration. Go directly to the home page, click 'Sign In,' then 'Library or Group,' then select Northeastern University from the dropdown menu to create your account.
- Boston Globe (1980-present) (Proquest)Search for articles, reviews, editorials, and more published in the Boston Globe.
- Boston Herald (via Access World News) This link opens in a new windowFull text from 1991 to the present. The newspaper is one of two daily newspapers in Boston.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowLeading economic, business, finance, and political news, information, commentary and analysis. For historic WSJ content dating back to 1985, please use Factiva (Opens in new window). Individual registration using a Northeastern email address is required.
- Economist This link opens in a new windowWeekly international news and business publication. The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.