headerbox { margin-bottom:0px; }
This is the "Home" page of the "Interprofessional Education, Research and Practice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Interprofessional Education, Research and Practice  

Last Updated: Nov 18, 2014 URL: http://subjectguides.lib.neu.edu/interprofessionaleducation Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Recommended Readings

Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice:  this report is inspired by a vision of interprofessional collaborative practice as key to the safe, high quality, accessible, patient-centered care desired by all.  Sponsored by the Interprofessional Education Collaborative.

Educating for the Health Team:  this report came out of the first IOM Conference in 1972 on "Interrelationships of Educational Programs for Health Professionals", where 120 leaders from allied health, dentistry, medicine, nursing and pharmacy considered key questions at the forefront of  contemporary national discussions about interprofessional education.

 

NEW! DSM-5 Online

   The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 5 (DSM-5) is the handbook used by health care professionals in the United States and much of the world as the authoritative guide to the diagnosis of mental disorders. DSM contains descriptions, symptoms, and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders.  The DSM-5 is part of the recently purchased package called PsychiatryOnline Premium.  Connect to DSM-5

View the PsychiatryOnline Tutorial  to learn more about searching across psychiatric journals, ebooks, practice guidelines and more.


 

3D Printing @ Snell Library!

 

Journal of Research In Interprofessional Practice and education--Recent Articles

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Journal of Interprofessional Care

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Recent PubMed Articles

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Interprofessional Education, Research and Practice

Definitions

"The goal of this interprofessional learning is to prepare all health professions students for deliberatively working together with the common goal of building a safer and better patient-centered and community/population oriented U.S. health care system".

(Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice: Report of an expert panel. Washington, D.C.: Interprofessional Education Collaborative, May 2011, p. 3).


Interprofessional Education: "When students from two or more professions learn about, from and with each other to enable effective collaboration and improve health outcomes" (WHO 2010)

Interprofessional Collaborative Practice"When multiple health workers from different professional backgrounds work together with patients, families, carers, and communities to deliver the highest quality of care". (WHO, 2010)

Interprofessional Team-based Care: Care delivered by intentionally created, usually relatively small work groups in health care, who are recognized by others as well as by themselves as having a collective identity and shared responsibility for a patient or group of patients, e.g. rapid response team, palliative care team, primary care team, operating room team.

 

Welcome!

 Looking for research articles in interprofessional education, research & practice? 
CINAHL Complete, Medline and more core and essential resources

Looking for a specific journal?
E-JournalFinder

Looking for our catalog with some integrated biomedical articles?
Scholar OneSearch 

 
Looking for a complete list of biomedical databases?
A to Z Index, Biomedical and Health

Key Resources

  • Medline (EbscoHost)
    Medline is the most comprehensive and authoritative index to worldwide biomedical, nursing, dentistry and veterinary medicine journal literature from 1966-present. From the National Library of Medicine.
  • PubMed
    Open-access version of Medline, the health information clearinghouse from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to full text for authorized NU affiliates.
  • CINAHL Complete (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health)
    The world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index from 1937-present.
  • Education Research Complete
    Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,870 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,060 journals, and includes full text for more than 133 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
  • Web of Science
    Citation information and analysis, as well as author abstracts, are available in this multidisciplinary database covering 11,000 high impact research journals. Cited reference searching allows you to track prior research, see who is citing your work. Coverage: 1975 to the present.
 

Useful Library Services

E-Journal Title Search (search by journal title to see if NU subscribes to it)

All Databases and Trials  (complete A-Z list of databases)

Interlibrary Loan  (request books or articles not available at NU)

Citation Guides  (includes AMA, APA, MLA, CSE and more)

EndNote  (software for managing your citations)

RefWorks  (software for managing your citations)

Online Help  (email, chat, texting)

Off-campus Access to Resources

New Resources!

 Mobile versions available for AccessMedicine & AccessPharmacy. 

  • AccessMedicine
    from McGraw-Hill Medical is an innovative online resource that provides access to 77 core medical texts, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, USMLE practice questions, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device. Updated frequently and expanded continuously by world-renowned physicians.
  • AccessPhysiotherapy
    a comprehensive full-text online learning tool, featuring 20 core physical therapy texts, 500+ videos and narrated lectures in orthopedics, neurology and sports medicine, demonstrations of examination & treatment techniques. Also includes a cadaver dissection tool, modalities & therapeutic goals, search core topics for interventions, functional limitations, goals, A & A, case studies and more.
  • AccessPharmacy
    AccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource for pharmacy education. The source includes curriculum topics, organ systems, textbooks, drug monographs, lab tests, calculators, videos, case studies, and more.

Contact Me

Profile Image
Sandy Dunphy
Contact Info
Snell Library
617-373-5322
Send Email
Education:
MLIS Simmons College

BA Marietta College

Associations:
ACRL/New England Chapter, MAHSLIN, NAHSL

Link to...

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip