Skip to main content

Anthropology: Maps & Statistics

A guide to print and online resources in anthropology

Maps

American Geographical Society Library (AGSL) Digital Map Collection contains over 500 maps from the 15th to the 20th century

Perry-Castenada Library Map Collection, University of Texas, Austin contains current and historical maps of interest.

Global Distribution of Poverty, the poverty mapping project of the Center for International Earth Science Information Network. The website also provides subnational data sets with a catalog describing variables available in each set and papers and presentations by CIESIN and collaborators during the project period and a link to Where the Poor Are: An Atlas of Poverty

Global Incident Map: A Global Display of Terrorism and Other Suspicious Events also links to a number of free public service information maps, covering HAZMAT Situations, Gang Activity, H1N1 Pandemic, Forest Fires, Border Security Issues and more.  

Harvard Geospatial Library (HGL) has open access GIS  "layers" available for download and provided "in a consistent, open format so they can easily be used by many different software packages without the need for translation."

Massachusetts Historical Society online maps include twenty-four manuscript maps of local towns and counties dating from 1637-1809 and eight iconic printed maps of Massachusetts and Boston.

World Health Organization (WHO) produces a Global Atlas of the Health Workforce

The World Bank: Mapped, is a mash-up of Google Maps and World Bank data, a visual look at wealth--and poverty--distribution throughout the world.

Worldmapper: The World as You've Never Seen It has maps showing areas of interest--not country boundaries. Looking for a map showing the distribution of wealth, income, food, housing?

For local maps, the Boston Redevelopment Authority webpage has maps and aerial photographs

Statistics and Data

 Historical Census Browser (University of Virginia) provides selected census data from 1790-1970. By state and county. Users may select geographic and demographic variables to create customized tables with sorting features.

Population Reference Bureau (PRB) "informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations." Use the DataFinder to browse for data geographically and by topic.

Poverty and Equity Data  from the World Bank

U.S. Census Bureau The home page for finding U.S. statistics. Includes press releases on the latest race, ethnic and age estimates, as well as Minority Links.

Global Health Observatory (GHO)  World Health Organization's Statistical Information System, is an interactive database of health statistics for the almost 200 members of the World Health Organization.

2013 Legatum Prosperity Index, developed by the Legatum Institute (an independent, non-partisan public policy research organization) is the only global measurement of national success based on both income and wellbeing.

Social Science Statistics compiled by the Social Science Librarians.