Skip to main content

Anthropology: HONR 3310-04 From the Wobblies to Occupy

A guide to print and online resources in anthropology

Research Tools

International Encyclopedia of Protest and Revolution covers protest and revolution and social movements from 1500.

 

International Encyclopedia of Social & Behavioral Science is another rich source of overview essays;

 

  Check Kanopy for films online

 and the Snell Library catalog for resources--

 including DVDs, such as Revealing Hate , which " explores the difficult and often hidden world of hate groups in the United States. This gripping documentary blends now familiar archival footage of KKK rallies with disturbing images of white supremacists still active today. Through separate vignettes, the film tells the stories of those who have prosecuted, photographed, protested, infiltrated, and even participated in hate groups, shedding light on these philosophies that continue to run deep within the fringes of our society."

 

The database, Statista is a resource for infographics.

 

Online audio collection at Smithsonian Global Sound --there is a category for struggle and protest. 

The Labor Film Database   Browse this collection of clips and films by topic or type of occupation.

Resources by Topic/Week

Week 1: Social Movements, Representations, and Documentary Film

Check Scholar OneSearch-->Library Catalogs for books and ebooks NOTE: this searches like Google, so if you are looking for the phrase, social movements, you will need to enclose it in quotation marks--"social movements"


Week 2: The Wobblies & the Early 20th Century Labor Movement

IWW Historical Archives  includes dictionary, chronology and primary sources.

IWW Photograph Collection page at University of Washington including the IWW Red Songbook

I Will Win: Songs from the Wobblies (from Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries)

 

Week 3 The Civil Rights Movement & the Origins of 1960s Protest

African American Odyssey--the Civil Rights Movement (Library of Congress)

Black Power! The Movement, the Legacy from 

Civil Rights Digital Library (University of Georgia)

Equal Justice Institute Report on Lynchings in America
A re-examination of The Great Migration and lynchings as racial terrorism.

Martin Luther King, Jr. Research  and Education Institute (Stanford University)

   Sing for Freedom: The Story of the Civil Rights Movement through its Songs
(Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries)

Voices from the Southern Civil Rights Movement from the American Archive of Public Broadcasting, a collaboration between the Library of Congress and WGBH.

 

Week 4: Student, Anti-War, & Counter-Culture Movements of the 1960s

Free Speech Movement on the Calisphere

American History from a California Perspective

Protest, Change and Backlash: The 1960's  (North Caroline Digital History)

Vietnam: A War on Two Fronts is a quick read from the Favat Collection in Snell Library.

 

Week 5: The Black Panthers

Historical Black Newspapers present the African-American media perspective often missed by mainstream newspapers.

The New Black Panthers, online video from the National Geographic Channel

 

Week 6: The Weather Underground

FBI Vault -- primary sources on The Weathermen

International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest

 

Week 7 The American Indian Movement

American Indian Movement (1960s-1970s) on youtube

American Indian Movement organizational webpage

1969 Occupation of Alcatraz Proclamation

Alcatraz is not an Island

 

Week 8: Women's and Gay/Lesbian Liberation Movements

American Experience timeline of the Gay Liberation Movement

SlutWalks and the Future of Feminism. Washington Post, June 3, 2011

State Equality Index Report by Human Rights and Equality Federation on protections not provided to LGBT citizens--by state.


Week 9: Environmental/Climate Justice Movements

Can't Take No More a film on the history of OSHA, narrated by Studs Terkel

Economics of Climate Change is a project of Schwartz Center for Economic Policy Analysis, The New School. Includes policy papers, gray literature and multimedia presentations, accessible through PolicyFile



Week 10: Anti-Corporate Globalization Movements

WTO History Project (University of Washington)

Seattle Municipal Archives on the WTO Protest

 

Week 11: Immigrant rights/Anti-Immigration Movements

Ethnic NewsWatch database Includes journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses.  Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.

 Pew Research- Hispanic Trends Project

 

Week 12: The Tea Party

The Tea Party : a brief history
Formisano, Ronald P., 1939-

Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press 2012
Available at Snell Library Stacks (JK2391.T43 F67 2012 )

"The Truth About the Tea Party" by Matt Taibbi, Rolling Stone Magazine

 

Week 13: The Arab Spring

 The Arab Spring: A Year of Revolution--listen to the story on NPR's "All Things Considered", December 17, 2011.

Lindsey, R. A. (Jul 29, 2013). What the Arab Spring Tells Us About the Future of Social Media in Revolutionary MovementsSmall Wars Journal

Week 14: #Occupy Everywhere!

NU video of Jeff Juris and the Occupy Movement.

#Occupy Archive

Listen to 'Occupy Boston Holds on as Other Camps Closeat "All Things Considered," NPR, February 09, 2012