Databases and more
In this section you'll find selected databases and other sources that will contain environmental health content.
Go to each subpage for information on specific types of publications.
- News Sources
- e-Books
- Journals
PubMed Basics
It can be confusing to understand what PubMed is in comparison to Medline, PubMed Central, and even MedlinePlus.
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's open-access database, encompassing Medline,a health information clearinghouse of articles from the National Library of Medicine, plus articles deposited by authors and publishers as part of National Institutes of Health funding requirements.
Here are some quick explanations.
- MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?From NLM on the differences
- PubMed (NU customized) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive source of journal literature in the life sciences and biomedicine from the National Library of Medicine. Includes selected full text from PubMed Central, and NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed is a free web resource, however this version contains links to Northeastern-subscribed journals that require a login.
- PubMed User GuideLearn about MeSH, search strategies on finding by author, selecting search terms and more.
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, and a part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
- MedlinePlus - Health Topics-mission is to present high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish. Anywhere, anytime, on any device—for free.
Selected Databases
Public health is an interdisciplinary field of study. It crosses many subject areas. Search several different databases for the most comprehensive search results.
A few that those researching environmental health might find useful are included below.
- GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDrawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE is an informative resource containing nearly 300,000 records, with full text for selected titles, and searchable cited references with library links for more than 200 additional titles
- Public Health Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowCore public health literature with access to 500 full-text publications and 9,000 dissertations as well as research reports and newspaper articles.
- Web of Science, All Databases This link opens in a new windowUse this link for access to citation tracking and subject searching of scholarly literature. Data visualizations, alerts, and journal impact factors. Includes the Web of Science Core Collection. One of the largest curated databases of scholarly research, with citations in some subjects from 1900 to the present.
Health Policy
These resources, some subscription based, some free contain information related to policies across a variety of topics and organizations.
When possible, used advanced search strategies, learn about the features and categorizations in the database.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowReports, working papers, policy briefs, data, and audio and visual media drawn from a directory of thousands of government, nongovernment, and intergovernmental institutions and research centers.
Search Help for Policy Commons:
- Policy File (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowU.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
- Policy AtlasHarvard Catalyst
A comprehensive database of policy and public health data for researchers, policymakers, and community advocates. - CDC Public Health Law Program (PHLP)PHLP works to improve the health of the public by developing law-related tools and providing legal technical assistance to public health practitioners and policymakers.
Public Health Law
- Public Health Law Watcha resource for academics, scholars, experts, the public, the media, and policymakers.
- Center for Health Policy and LawNortheastern University School of Law
- Center for Public Health Law ResearchTemple University
Use these databases to search for specific legislation and laws. View tutorials or ask a librarian for help if you need additional search help.
- HeinOnline contains many databases within it. Click to the right of the search box to view and select what fits your inquiry best.
- WestLaw defaults the search Federal United States. Choose specifics from the boxes displayed below.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is available courtesy of the Northeastern School of Law Library.
Full text legal documents including regulations and other government publications, reports, Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) and UN Treaty series, and law reviews and journals. - Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowSearch federal and state court cases, statutes and codes as well as European Union laws and regulations. Secondary sources include the American Law Reports and the American Jurisprudence encyclopedia, law reviews, journals, and newspapers.
- Tutorials: Find cases and articles in Westlaw (video) or see a PDF version