The purpose of this guide is to draw together information offered by the library and resources relevant to faculty, undergraduate, and graduate students who are pursuing a venture or idea.
This guide is meant to provide resources for the different steps to creating a venture/idea.
Explores in-depth the intersection between entrepreneurship and the health sciences field. Addresses unique opportunities and challenges of starting and managing businesses in the healthcare industry. Covers the fundamental principles of entrepreneurship and applies them specifically to the context of health sciences. Offers students an opportunity to obtain the tools to identify and evaluate innovative healthcare business ideas, develop sustainable business models, and navigate the complex healthcare landscape. Uses case studies to analyze approaches to identify opportunities, develop innovative solutions, and create sustainable businesses that have a positive impact on the health and well-being of individuals and communities.
Introduces the process of product design, development, and innovation across the health sciences. Presents the tools and methods for creating new products that benefit health and well-being across the life span. Focuses on overall product design methodology, including the identification of customer needs, generation of product concepts, prototyping, and minimal viable product development. Offers students an opportunity to understand regulatory processes for the FDA, medical devices, and digital therapeutics. Reviews go-to-market strategies and provides exposure to the full product development life cycle.
Only one course must be completed.
PHMD 2350
Examines the evolution of the American healthcare delivery system from the early forms of organized institutional healthcare through the dynamic, and increasingly integrated, delivery systems of the present. Explores the interactions of regulatory, economic, political, and social aspects of the healthcare system with particular emphasis on pharmacy practices. Compares current policies and proposals for health reform and pharmacy benefit coverage. Analyzes the impact and consequences of national and international actions in one era on the structure, function, and outcomes of healthcare and professional pharmacy practice in later years. Major emphases include factors affecting American population health, health disparities, and strategies, including pharmacy/pharmacists, to improve the nation’s health.
PNTH 1260
Introduces the organization and dynamics of the healthcare system and the role of consumers. Explores basic elements of healthcare including financing, personal insurance, high-risk status, and patient rights within the context of the U.S. system. Central to this exploration is an analysis of healthcare issues requiring informed consent from patients: patient bill of rights, healthcare directives, and the use of a proxy for decision making. Introduces the roles and responsibilities of various healthcare workers within the framework of an interdisciplinary model of healthcare.
PNTH 1261
Designed to enable health profession students to develop a basic understanding of health-delivery systems and key issues confronting healthcare in the United States and in the study country in this study-abroad course. Explores issues such as the affordability of medical care, patient rights, health risks and behaviors, disease prevention, quality and access to care, the growth of managed care and corporate influence on healthcare, new medical technologies, the aging population, the impact of biotechnology, and trends in employment of health professionals. Incorporates self- and group-reflection exercises, Internet and contemporary media exploration, and in-class discussions. Compares and contrasts key healthcare issues in the study country with those in the United States using literature, Internet and contemporary media, observations in the study country, and discussions with guest speakers.
Only one elective from the list must be completed.
ENTR 2303 Marketing Strategies for Startups
ENTR 3305 Business Model Design and Innovation
ENTR 3330 Design Thinking for Startups
ENTR 4505 Entrepreneurial Venture Growth Strategies
INNO 2206 Global Social Enterprise
INNO 2301 Innovation!
INNO 2304 Industry Disruption and Corporate Transformation
MKTG 2201 Introduction to Marketing
PHTH 2350 Community and Public Health
PHTH 2351 Community and Public Health — Global
PHTH 2515 Healthcare Policy and Administration
PHTH 4515 Critical Issues in Health and Public — Health Policy
PHTH 5234 Economic Perspectives on Health Policy
Written content on a narrow subject and published in a periodical or website. In some contexts, academics may use article as a shortened form of journal article.
See also:
A detailed list of resources cited in an article, book, or other publication. Also called a List of References.
A label of letters and/or numbers that tell you where the resource can be found in the library. Call numbers are displayed on print books and physical resources and correspond with a topic or subject area.
Well-regarded review process used by some academic journals. Relevant experts review articles for quality and originality before publication. Articles reviewed using this process are called peer reviewed articles. Less often, these articles are called refereed articles.
A search setting that removes search results based on source attributes. Limiters vary by database but often include publication date, material type, and language. Also called: filter or facet.
A paper written to fulfill requirements for a degree containing original research on a narrow topic. Also called a thesis.
A searchable collection of similar items. Library databases include resources for research. Examples include: a newspaper database, such as Access World News, or a humanities scholarly journal database, such as JSTOR.
A book or article written by academic researchers and published by an academic press or journal. Scholarly sources contain original research and commentary.