Data Science : Find Data

This guide provides a general overview of research resources in Data Science, which includes online databases, journals, books, websites & other resources, finding tools and news.

How Do I Find Data?

Data and data analysis are an important part of many types of research. Finding, using, and evaluating data can be a bit different than using other types of sources. Consult our Data Research Tutorials for more information and explore a variety of data collections below.

How Do I Find Data? Descriptive Transcript

Find Datasets and Statistics

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Sage Data is a collection of U.S. and international datasets sourced from governmental, commercial, and private organizations. Sage Data allows you to search and browse millions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized exportable charts and tables. Includes the Claritas Consumer Profiles dataset.

US Census
Data tables from the U.S. Census
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Datasets from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Datasets from the CDC
Data.gov
A collection of over 300,000 datasets from a variety of U.S. Federal Government and local government agencies
World Bank Open Data
Global data about development in various countries
UNdata
Statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of topics including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Brings together data and graphs on every imaginable topic from business to government, surveys, sports, and scientific topics. Easy to use, exportable charts and data, recommended citations.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Economic, demographic, and market data on thousands of industries worldwide.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Company, industry, country and financial data for every major marketplace in the world. Includes company SWOTs, company overviews, industry profiles, market research, case studies, financial deals, country analysis, news and statistics.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable database with detailed information on businesses including both active/inactive companies as well as daily updates on executives.
Allows searching of public companies by SIC, NAICS or HIC code, and to generate a list of companies meeting certain criteria for researchers to do industry and investment analysis.
Mintel U.S. Reports & Global New Products This link opens in a new window
Category specific reports with quantitative and qualitative market, brand, and consumer insights as well as a global database of new consumer packaged goods launches in 86 markets.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
International marketing data, analysis for countries, consumers, and industries, for example, searching of industries and products in order to locate leading companies in different regions of the world.
- What's included:Charts and data exporting available
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
A mapping and data visualization application including demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), CDC PLACES health data, and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories and detailed lifestyle data. This resource is limited to 2 users at a time. Registration is required to save work between sessions.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
A non-profit membership-based data archive based at University of Michigan. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. You must register for a myData account in order to access some reports.
Data Citation Index (1900 - current) (Clarivate) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to quality research data from sources around the world in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the books and articles that use it. The database also includes data sets on their own.

State and Local Data

Analyze Boston
The City of Boston provides an open data hub. Locate datasets and other projects built on this open data.
Boston Indicators Project
Provides key indicators for data trends in Boston.The reports tend to include data from the field of health, education, transportation, etc.
The Health of Boston
Includes reports that provide descriptive information about the health status and factors that influence the health of Boston residents.
Massachusetts Office of Data Management and Outcomes Assessment
ODMOA facilitates and coordinates the collection, access to, and use of public health data in order to monitor and improve population health.
State Budget Sources The Volcker Alliance
State Budget Sources is designed to provide improved tools for public officials, policy advocates, journalists, academics, and concerned citizens researching the critical fiscal decisions that governors and legislators must make.