Library Services
On this page, you will find information on library services related to:
Interlibrary Loan
- ILLiad log-in (Opens in new window)Need a book, book chapter, or article not available at Northeastern? Current US-based Northeastern faculty, staff, and students can request materials that aren't available at the Northeastern University Library through ILLiad, our interlibrary loan software.
Research Data Services - Support & Tools PDF
Data Analysis and Programming
Support for cleaning, manipulating, and analyzing data. Also learning how to code.
Excel
Python
R / RStudio
Data Visualization
Support for creating and improving data visualizations such as graphs.
D3.js
Flourish
Tableau
Posters, Presentations, and Diagrams
Support for creating and refining posters, presentations, diagrams and other graphics.
Adobe Illustrator
Adobe InDesign
PowerPointGeospatial Analysis and GIS
Support for creating maps, conducting geospatial analysis, and learning GIS tools.
ArcGIS / ESRI Suite
QGIS
Simply Analytics- Research Data Services Support & Tools (PDF)Click for downloadable PDF of RDS' services with embedded links. For more info see the Research Data Services website.
Data Analytics and Visualization
Data visualization or information visualization is a very broad term used to describe any visual representation of information. This can be anything from charts and graphs, to sketches and diagrams, to posters and presentations. Anything that helps communicate information visually. At Northeastern University Library, Research Data Analyst Kate Kryder can help people with things like creating dashboards, maps, and tables of data.
Geographic Information System and Mapping
A Geographic Information System (GIS) is a computer-based means of storing, analyzing, displaying, and otherwise managing geospatial data - that is, any data that has a plottable or mappable geographic component. More than just a means of creating maps, GIS is a powerful tool for revealing and examining how geographic relationships affect the world around us, and for solving real-world problems where location and proximity come into play.
-
Geographical Information System (GIS)
by Bahare Sanaie-Movahed Last Updated Nov 15, 2024 5481 views this year
Digital Repository Service
The Digital Repository Service (DRS) was developed by Northeastern University Library as a tool for University faculty and staff to protect the valuable information and data that has been created as part of the University’s research and instructional mission.
Anyone is welcome to use the DRS to discover publicly available content, like theses and dissertations or the University Archives and Special Collections Digital Collections. Members of the Northeastern community are encouraged to sign in to access additional content that is not available to the general public, like photographs from the Office of Marketing and Communications or certain research materials.
- DRS User GuideThe DRS User Guide contains helpful information about various DRS functions, like downloading and uploading files, as well as information about how the DRS operates, like how communities and collections are structured.
- DRS FAQFrequently asked questions about the DRS
Recording Studios
- Recording StudiosThe Recording Studios is currently closed as part of the Snell renovation project. The Studios will reopen in the Fall Semester 2024. Studio staff remain available to assist you with your recording and post-production questions.
For more helpful information, visit the Digital Media Toolkit https://subjectguides.lib.neu.edu/mediakit.
Archives & Special Collections
The Archives and Special Collections preserve and make accessible the historical records of Boston’s social justice and neighborhood history, as well as the history of Northeastern.
- Find over 64,000 digitized archival records.
- Watch some webinars to become familiar with what the Archives does and their collections.
- Schedule a remote class or workshop to discuss primary sources, storytelling with Archives, and more through our Teaching with Archives Program
- Contact the Archives and Special Collections to get your primary source research started.