Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We Don't Have It?
Option 1: Use InterLibrary Loan to have the item delivered here. We will request books, journal articles and more from other libraries. While this service isn't free, it's free to you -- give us a citation and we'll find it for you.
Option 2: Go to another library to find the book yourself -- necessary for archives and special collections. Notheastern libraries have partnerships with other fantastic local libraries as part of the Boston Library Consortium (BLC).
BLC WorldCat Local
Fastest for books, covering BLC libraries like Tufts, MIT, BC, BU, Brandeis, U-Mass Amherst, and more. Choose "Boston Library Consortium" from the drop-down menu.
Fastest for articles. National reach for books, although the BLC may be quicker for books. First register for an ILLiad account, then check request status, and more.
Use this library guide to help you choose the best service for requesting items from other libraries.
Shakespeariana at the BPL
You may also be interested in getting a Boston Public Library e-card, for access to many of their other databases from home. You can apply online for immediate access.
Shakespeariana material includes four folios and some 45 early quarto editions plus many translations and commentaries with Shakespeare’s 16th and 17th century sources, extensive collection of portraits and illustrative material, Shakespeare autograph letters, notes of editors and commentators inserted in appropriate volumes, and much more.
Brown Theatre Collection
18th and 19th century dramatic periodicals, both English and American, the near complete files of playbills for 19th century Boston theaters; and a collection of 20 unique broadside programs printed before 1801, and much more. Online catalogue here
Rare Books & Manuscripts Department
You may find additional collections of Elizabethan and Restoration literature at the BPL, so do contact their Rare Books experts or visit directly.
Other BLC Libaries
International Index to Performing Arts
At Boston College. Journals from 1864 to the present covering theatre, dance, film, stagecraft, musical theatre, television, performance art, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and other performing arts.
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare
At Boston College, Boston University, and Tufts. Eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863–66, twenty-eight separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works. In addition, more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, including the whole of Bell's Acting Edition of Shakespeare's Plays (1774).
North American Theatre Online
At Boston College. Comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of Canadian and American theatre, including information on plays, people, theatres, productions with images, playbills, postcards, and scrapbooks.
Shakespeare Survey Online
At Boston University. Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances. We have this in print at Snell Library, but BU has an online, searchable version.
At Brandeis University.
All critical editions of Shakespeare's works from the first published edition (1709) to the present, including First, Second, and Fourth Folios and important pre-1800 Shakespearean criticism and commentary. Digital version of the Brandeis University Libraries' Shakespeare First Folio
is online, via the Perseus Digital Library website.
What Is the BLC?
Really need a book or database at another library, ASAP? Try going to one of our partner libraries in the Boston Library Consortium, an association of more than 15 academic and research libraries located in Massachusetts, Connecticut, and New Hampshire.
Houghton Library at Harvard
Harvard Theatre Collection
Part of the Houghton Library, includes rare books, manuscripts, playbills, promptbooks, costume designs, and more. One of the pre-eminent theatre collections in the U.S., freely available to all researchers but best to make an advance appointment with your specific research question already in mind.