Administrative Committee of the Basic Colleges Records
- The Administrative Committee of the Basic Colleges was comprised of the deans of the Basic Colleges of Northeastern University. It met regularly to discuss issues pertaining to the administration and daily running of the colleges.
Administrative Computer Services Records [unprocessed]
- Administrative Computer Services is no longer in existence; it merged with Academic Computing. The records include reports and correspondence.
Advocates for a Common Experience Committee Records
- Established in 1995, the Advocates for a Common Experience Committee comprised of faculty, students, administrators, alumni, and trustees, was created to ascertain the essential goals for education of all undergraduates and determine how to go about achieving them. By 1997, all the colleges had implemented the Committee's goals.
African American Master Artists-in-Residence Program Records
- Founded in 1974, the African American Master Artists–in–Residence Program (AAMARP) was the first African American artist–in–residence program in the United States, providing studio space on an annually renewable basis to visual artists.
Catherine L. Allen Papers
- Educator Catherine L. Allen (1909-2000) was chair of Northeastern’s recreation education department, dean of Boston-Bouvé College from 1967-1977, and special assistant to Northeastern University President Kenneth G. Ryder from 1977 to 1981.
Alumni Association of the Evening School of Business Ledgers
- The Alumni Association of the Evening School of Business Ledgers document membership dues and donations received for the George S. Clarkson Scholarship Fund from 1929-1959.
Albert James Augustine Papers
- Albert James Augustine (1912-1997) attended Northeastern University from 1931-1935, earning a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemical Engineering in 1935.
Emma Jean Lang Avery Papers
- Emma Jean Lang Avery (1893-1980) attended Northeastern University's Evening School of Law from September 1923 to June 1927, and received her LLB in 1927.
- The Bachelors’ theses were written by undergraduate engineering students at Northeastern University from 1914 through 1953.
Band Association Records
- Established in 1926, the Band Association oversees Northeastern student musical activities. In 2003, there were six groups in the Band Association: concert band, pep band, jazz big band, orchestra, rock ensemble and the chamber ensemble. In 2004, the Concert Band, Pep Band, and Symphony Orchestra became separate student groups.
Barnett Institute of Chemical and Biological Analysis Records
- Barnett Institute of Chemical and Biological Analysis, formerly named the Institute of Chemical Analysis, Applications and Forensic Science, was established in 1973. The Institute originally spearheaded graduate education and research in analytical chemistry, materials science, and forensic science; it now includes technology development and applications for biological research.
Arthur Batcheller Papers
- Freelance photographer and radio inspector, Arthur Batcheller (1888-1978) received his First Class Radio Operators license from the Boston YMCA Polytechnic School in 1913. He was chief radio inspector for the Second Federal Radio District (Port of New York) and Traveling Supervisor of Radio.
Samuel Becker Papers
- Samuel H. Becker (1907-1990) graduated from Northeastern University Evening School of Law in 1936, earning a Bachelor of Law degree.
Edward L. Bernays Papers
- Edward L. Bernays (1891-1995) was known as the "Father of Public Relations." He served as a member of the United States Committee on Public Information and received an Honorary Doctorate in Public Service from Northeastern University.
Charles Harold Berry Papers
- Charles Harold Berry (1889-1965) was a professor of mechanical engineering at Northeastern University, 1955-1964.
Wilbert A. Bishop, Jr. Papers
- Wilbert A. Bishop, Jr. (1906-1973) graduated from Northeastern University's School of Law in 1933, earning a Bachelor of Law degree. He was raised in Lynn, Massachusetts and later practiced law in Hinesville, Georgia.
Larry Blumsack Papers
- Larry Blumsack was a founding member of the Theatre Department at Northeastern, and taught at the University from 1962-1970, and 1989-1995. He went on to serve as Director of Public Relations for the National Center of Afro-American Artists from 1970-1976. Blumsack also served on the Board of the Elma Lewis School of Fine Arts and was the co-director of the school's drama department from 1966-197
Boston-Bouvé College Records
- Founded in 1913 as the Boston School of Physical Education, Boston-Bouvé College was a school for the instruction of women in physical education. In 1930, the Bouvé–Boston School of Physical Education affiliated with Simmons College, and in 1942 was affiliated with Tufts University. The College merged with Northeastern University in 1964 and expanded its curricula to include programs in health professions, nursing, and pharmacy.
Bureau of Business and Economic Research Records
- Founded in 1939, the Northeastern University Bureau of Business Research was created to “make studies and conduct research into the problems of New England business development, expansion of the New England market for New England industry...and investigations into special problems of individual business concerns....” The Bureau survived through the 1980s, dissolving due to diminishing student and faculty interest.
Byron K. Elliot Hall Dedication Scrapbook
- Former judge of the Superior Court in Indianapolis, Byron K. Elliot (1899-1996) was a member of the Northeastern University Corporation from 1954 to 1996 and of the Board of Trustees from 1955 to 1972. In 1963, Elliot co-developed the Graduate School of Actuarial Science at Northeastern. The Byron K. Elliot Hall on Northeastern’s Burlington campus was dedicated in his honor in 1972.
Ann M. Butler Papers [unprocessed]
- Ann M. Butler is an alumna of Northeastern University, Class of 1966. During her time at Northeastern, she was heavily involved with the Silver Masque drama club.
Robert C. Campbell Papers
- Business entrepreneur and founder of Campbell Enterprises, Robert C. Campbell (1920-2005) graduated from Northeastern University with an honors degree in Business Administration in 1943. While a student, he was a member of Gamma Phi Kappa, the Sigma Society, the Class Executive Council, and the United States Marine Corps Reserves.
Career Services Records [unprocessed]
- The Career Services office at Northeastern provides employment assistance to students and alumnae of Northeastern.
Henry Robert Cattley Papers
- Henry Robert Cattley (1912-1998) earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from Northeastern in 1935. Cattley was a member of the University’s track and cross-country teams.
Centennial Office Records
- Established in 1992, the Northeastern University Centennial Office oversaw planning for the centennial celebration to commemorate the first class meeting on October 3, 1898. The celebration began on October 15, 1997 and ended on October 3, 1998. It included exhibits, fundraising campaigns, a concert by the Boston Pops and an appearance by actress Shirley Jones who starred in the 1970s sitcom “The Partridge Family.”
Center for Continuing Education Records
- Founded as the Office of Adult and Continuing Education in 1960, Northeastern University's Center for Continuing Education (CCE) offered a variety of credit and non-credit evening classes for individuals in the workforce or those about to enter it. In 1995, the CCE was incorporated into Northeastern’s University College.
Center for Community Health Education Research and Service, Inc. Records
- Established in 1991, the Center for Community Health Education Research and Service (CCHERS) was designed to bring undergraduate medical and nursing students into the communities surrounding their schools and provide them with real-world experience. In 1997, the Center incorporated, officially becoming an independent entity.
Center for Effective University Teaching Records
- Created in 1989 as the Office for the Support of Effective Teaching, the Center for Innovation and Excellence in Teaching and Learning was established to improve course and teacher evaluations, faculty portfolios, and classroom skills through brochures, handbooks and workshops. In 1995–1996, the Office for the Support of Effective Teaching was renamed the Center for Effective University Teaching (CEUT). In March 2009, the Office of the Provost merged CEUT with the EdTech Center to create the Center for Innovation and Excellence in Teaching and Learning.
Center for International Higher Education Documentation Records
- The Center for International Higher Education Documentation was established in 1976 to house the research files of Asa Knowles' International Encyclopedia of Higher Education. The Center closed in 1986, and its collections were absorbed into the University Library's main collection.
Center for Labor Market Studies Records [unprocessed]
- Established in 1979, the Center for Labor Market Studies (CLMS) was an applied research, evaluation, and policy-oriented technical assistance unit located within the Department of Economics of Northeastern University.
Center for Spirituality, Dialogue and Service
- Founded in 1977 as the Office of Religious Life, the Northeastern University Office of Spiritual Life oversees the associated religious organizations on campus, the University convocations and services, and programs for students, faculty, and staff to support, nurture, and celebrate spiritual and religious well-being.
Center for the Study of Sport in Society Records
- Founded in 1984, Northeastern University’s Center for the Study of Sport in Society (CSSS) was created to increase awareness of the relationship of sports to society, and to explore the use of sports in bringing about positive social change. In 2010, CSSS was renamed Sport in Society.
Dana C. Chandler, Jr. Papers
- Noted African American artist Dana C. Chandler, Jr. (b. 1941) founded in 1974 Northeastern University’s African American Master Artists–in–Residence Program which provides studio to visual artists.
Laurence F. Cleveland Papers
- Laurence Fuller Cleveland, born May 6, 1905, taught electrical engineering at Northeastern. He began as a drawing instructor, and, after a 44 year career (1929-1973), retired as a tenured professor.
Gregory C. Coffin Papers
- Educator and civil rights activist Gregory C. Coffin (1926-2002) oversaw the Urban Schools Collaborative which worked to implement desegregation and improve the public school system in Boston.
Charles Joseph Collazzo Papers
- Educator Charles Joseph Collazzo (1921-1991), Northeastern Class of 1943, was a professor of marketing in the Northeastern’s College of Business Administration, ca. 1962-1984.
College of Arts and Sciences Records
- Established as the School of Arts and Sciences in 1935, the Northeastern College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) offered undergraduate and graduate degrees in the arts, humanities, social sciences, mathematics, and natural sciences. In 2010, CAS was restructured into three colleges: College of Science, College of Social Sciences and Humanities, and College of Arts, Media and Design.
College of Business Administration Records
- Established in 1922, the Northeastern College of Business Administration offers undergraduate and graduate courses in business, including accounting, finance, and international business.
College of Computer Science Records
- Established in 1982, Northeastern University College of Computer Science (CCS) later renamed the College of Computer and Information Science, offers undergraduate and graduate degrees in computer and information science.
College of Criminal Justice Records
- Founded in 1967, the Northeastern College of Criminal Justice provides professional training and supports study and research in the administration of criminal justice. The academic program expanded to include course work in corrections, juvenile delinquency, social welfare, criminalistics, and rehabilitation.
College of Education Records
- Founded in 1953, Northeastern University College of Education was established to provide undergraduate and graduate programs in education. In 1980, the College of Education merged with Boston-Bouvé College forming the Boston-Bouvé College of Human Development Professions. In 1992, the education department moved to the College of Arts and Sciences and, in 1999, was renamed the School of Education. In the early 2000s, the graduate programs of the School moved to the College of Professional Studies.
College of Engineering Records
- Founded in 1909, Northeastern University College of Engineering offers undergraduate and graduate degrees in engineering, including biomedical, chemical, civil, computer, electrical, industrial, and mechanical engineering.
College of Nursing Records
- Founded in 1964, the Northeastern University College of Nursing offers certificates and undergraduate and graduate degrees in health care and nursing. In 1997, the College of Nursing merged with the Bouvé College of Health Sciences and became the School of Nursing.
Commencement Committee, Clinton Commencement Collection
- On June 19, 1993 President William Jefferson Clinton (WJC) was the commencement speaker at the 91st Northeastern University commencement ceremony at the Boston Garden in the North End. WJC, who was the 42nd President of the United States (1993-2001), received an honorary Doctorate of Public Service at the ceremony.
Commencement Committee Records
- Although Northesastern’s first commencement was in 1902, the Commencement Committee wasn’t established until 1912. The Committee oversees the planning and execution of the undergraduate, graduate, and School of Law commencement ceremonies.
Committee on the Status of Women Records
- The Committee on the Status of Women at Northeastern University was established in 1985 to explore issues of concern to full-time female employees by conducting surveys. The survey called “Women Working at NU” shed light on the employees' thoughts concerning sexual harassment, career advancement, discrimination, and equal pay for equal work.
- Established in 1962, the Northeastern Music at Noon Concert series allowed students and student bands, such as the Northeastern University Band, the Symphony Orchestra, and the Choral Society, to perform music in front of an audience. Music at Noon also hosted professional musicians.
Frederick L. Corcoran, Jr. Papers
- Frederick L. Corcoran, Jr. (1911-2001) was an alumnus of Northeastern University, graduating in 1935 with a BS in Electrical Engineering and in 1939 with an LLB.
Corporation and Board of Trustees Records
- Established in 1916, the Corporation oversees the governing of Northeastern University. In 1937, the Corporation founded the Northeastern University Board of Trustees to assist with the governing of the University and to establish policies and goals.
Corporations and Foundations Records
- Northeastern University's Office of University Development was established in 1959 and includes the Division of Corporations and Foundations, which promotes capital gifts and grants from corporations, foundations, and other organizations.
Nicholas D. Corsano Papers
- Nicolas D. Corsano (1904-2003), Class of 1926, was an inspector and construction supervisor for the Boston Building Department. He was an active alumnus and served as co-chairmen of the 1925-1926 reunion committee in 1987.
Arnold E. Daum Papers
- Arnold E. Daum (1917-1993), Northeastern Class of 1940, taught undergraduate and graduate level courses in Marketing Management, Sales Management, Advertising Management, and Marketing Research at Northeastern’s University College from 1954 to the late 1980s.
Day Colleges Executive Committee Records
- The Executive Committee of Northeastern University's Day Colleges (1952-1961) consisted of the dean of each school (Business Administration, Education, Engineering, and Liberal Arts), the Dean of Students, the Dean of Freshmen, and the Dean of Women. It oversaw all petitions, student infractions, and academic issues for the four colleges.
Deaf Club Records
- Officially established in spring 1991, the Northeastern University Deaf Club is a student organization that provides support to deaf and hearing impaired students in their academic pursuits, promotes awareness of the deaf community, helps deaf and hearing impaired students acclimate to the Northeastern campus, provides a social forum for deaf and hearing impaired students on campus, and is a resource for students involved in the American Sign Language and Interpreter Training programs.
Dept. of African American Studies Records
- Established in 1973 as the Department of Afro-American Studies, the Northeastern University Department of African American Studies offers classes on the African American experience in literature, art, music, history, politics, and film.
Dept. of Admissions Records
- Established in 1927 as the Department of Admissions, the Northeastern University Office of Admissions recruits graduate and undergraduate students.
Dept. of Athletics Records
- Established in 1921, the Northeastern University Department of Athletics oversees athletic and campus recreation programs, including basketball, baseball, cross country, field hockey, ice hockey, rowing, soccer, swimming, track and field, and volleyball.
Dept. of History (Herman) Records [unprocessed]
Dept. of History, Latin America and the Caribbean in Boston Student Projects
- The “Latin America and the Caribbean in Boston” was a Northeastern University history class offered in spring 1998. Students wrote reports describing Brazilian, Dominican, Haitian, and Puerto Rican communities in Boston and Cambridge, Massachusetts.
Dept. of History, Oral History Collection
- Introduced in 1977 as a graduate independent study course on oral history, the Oral History Office (1977-1994) offered courses on both the undergraduate and graduate levels. Interview topics include a race-related shooting within a Cambridge public school, the lives of New England Fishermen, experiences of Episcopal Missionaries in China, histories recounted by 20th century immigrants to America, descriptions of work in the Lynn shoe industry, and interviews with World War I and II veterans.
Dept. of History, Oral History Project Records
- Started in 1998, the Oral History Project course, HST 4263, was an oral history class offered by Northeastern University's University College. The course introduced students to oral history techniques such as planning, interviewing, auditing, editing, and transcribing. Topics covered include personal histories, familial relationships, career goals and choices, and military service in Vietnam. In 2003, University College stopped offering HST 4263. Oral history is now covered as a topic in Public History.
Dept. of Medical Laboratory Science Records [unprocessed]
- The Department of Medical Laboratory Science was the first medical laboratory science program in the United States. The Department prepares health sciences students for careers in laboratory disciplines, including clinical chemistry and microbiology.
Dept. of Music Records
- Established in 1958 as part of the Department of Drama, Speech and Music in 1958, the Northeastern University Department of Music became an independent department in 1966–1967. The Department offers five majors: a BS in Music Technology, a BA in Music History and Analysis, a BA in Music Industry, and the combined BS in Interactive Media and Music and BS in Computer Science and Music. Five minors are also offered: Ethnomusicology, Musical Theater, Music Industry, Musical Performance and General Music.
Dept. of Rehabilitation and Special Education Records
- Formed in 1966, the Northeastern University Department of Rehabilitation and Special Education was established in the College of Education to train educators of children with learning, emotional, and physical disorders. After 1980, the College of Education merged with the Bouvé College of Human Development Professions. In 1984, the Department was renamed the Department of Counseling Psychology, Rehabilitation, and Special Education (DCPRSE). In 1999, the School of Education was moved to the College of Arts and Sciences and began to offer undergraduate and graduate programs in Special Education. The DCPRSE remained in Bouvé College but the Special Education component was eliminated in 2003.
Dept. of Residential Life Records
- Established in 1962 as the Office of Student Housing, the Department of Residential Life provides housing and a positive environment, both academically and socially, for Northeastern students.
Dept. of Theatre Records
- Formerly part of the Division of Performing and Visual Arts until the early 1980s, the Department of Theatre is now part of the College of Arts, Media, and Design. The Department aims to add to Boston's performance culture rather than duplicate what is already being performed. In the past, the Department collaborated with the Boston Theater of the Deaf and Northeastern's Silver Masque, a student-run organization dedicated to supporting theatrical endeavors outside of the classroom.
Dept. of Women's Athletics Records
- Established in 1965, the Northeastern University Women's Athletic Department oversaw and developed women’s athletic programs. The Department merged with the men’s athletics in 1972. In 1979, men's and women's athletics were separated again. In 1991, President John A. Curry merged the departments due to financial difficulties.
Development Information Systems Records
- The Information Systems section of Northeastern's Office of Development is responsible for maintaining and processing data relevant to the University's alumni.
Disability Resource Center Records
- Established in 1978 as the Office of Services for the Handicapped, the Disability Resource Center provides a range of services that enable students who qualify under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and the Americans with Disabilities Act to participate fully in the activities of the University.
Division of Academic Computing Records
- Begun in 1987, the Division of Academic Computing was a support service for the research and teaching needs of faculty, research personnel, graduate students and undergraduates. In 1999, the Division was reorganized into Information Services with services distributed into three departments: Academic Technology Services, Information Services Customer Service, and Network and Production Services.
Division of Cooperative Education Records
- Established in 1928 as the Department of Cooperative Work, the Division of Cooperative Education maintained Northeastern's cooperative program, provided placement services for seniors and alumni, performed outreach, and conducted consulting services to outside organizations that wished to create, improve, or expand cooperative education programs. The Division of Cooperative Education was dissolved in 2007, and Cooperative Education placements are handled by each of the individual Colleges with some functions carried on by Central Cooperative Education Services.
Division of Cooperative Education Records
- Established in 1928 as the Department of Cooperative Work, the Division of Cooperative Education maintained Northeastern's cooperative program, provided placement services for seniors and alumni, performed outreach, and conducted consulting services to outside organizations that wished to create, improve, or expand cooperative education programs. The Division collected employment records of Northeastern University co-operative education students between 1902 and 1972.
Division of Student Affairs Records
- Established in 1930 as Office of the Dean of Students, the Division of Student Affairs oversees programs and services relating to student life. It provides academic support through the Disability Resource Center and through Special Support Programs; administers cultural and personal centers such as the African-American Institute, the International Student and Scholar Institute, the Latino/a Student Cultural Center, the Center for Counseling and Student Development, and the Office of Spiritual Life; and deals with student social life through the Curry Student Center, the Office of Student Conduct and Conflict Resolution, and the Department of Residential Life.
Albert M. Donley Papers
- Albert M. Donley was the Assistant Librarian, Archivist, and Associate Director of the Northeastern University Libraries from 1953 until his retirement in 1982.
Beverly C. Dunn Papers
- Beverly C. Dunn, Jr. (1917-1984), a mathematician and high-frequency physicist, taught courses in physics in the graduate school at Northeastern, ca. 1962-1970.
Editorial Marketing and Publications (Feldscher) Records
- Karen Feldscher was Senior Writer for the Northeastern University Alumni Magazine, editor of Northeastern’s in-house newspapers, and author of the history, "Northeastern University, 1989-1996: The Curry Years: Smaller but Better."
Carl Stephens Ell Papers
- Carl S. Ell (1887-1981) was an educator, dean, and the second President of Northeastern University, 1940 to 1959.
Robert Erickson Papers
- Robert Erickson (1901-1989), Northeastern Class of 1926, was a member of Northeastern ‘s student senate, played drums in the school orchestra, and belonged to Beta Gamma Epsilon fraternity.
Virgina Eskin Papers [unprocessed]
- Virginia Eskin, a pianist and singer, created and hosted the radio series "First Ladies of Music" and was a visiting artist in Northeastern’s Department of Music.
Facilities Division Records
- The Northeastern University Facilities Division oversees the planning, design, and construction of new facilities and the renovation of existing campus facilities.
Faculty Senate Records
- Formed in 1961, the Northeastern University Faculty Senate acts as an advisory and review body that assists in administering the University.
Faculty Wives Records
- Northeastern University's Faculty Wives (1941-1970) was established to promote social contact among the wives of the University's faculty through sponsored back-to-school celebrations, holiday fund-raising parties, and spring luncheons.
Andre Favat Papers
- Educator and author F. Andre Favat (1938-1976) was an associate professor of English education in Northeastern’s Department of Instruction.
Robert Arnold Feer Papers
- Educator Robert Arnold Feer (192? - 1970) was Director of Graduate Studies in History at Northeastern University and assisted in the development of the Department of African-American Studies. In 1973, the History Department instituted the Feer Award, a monetary prize offered to the graduate student who completes the program with the highest grade point average.
James Alvin Firth Scrapbooks [unprocessed]
- The Reverend James A. Firth was a student at Northeastern during the 1930s.
Ford Hall Forum Audio Tapes
- Established in 1908, the Ford Hall Forum is the nation's oldest free public lecture series. It provides a non–partisan platform for open discussion and debate on topics of public interest.
Forsyth School for Dental Hygienists Records
- Founded as the Forsyth Dental Infirmary for Children in 1910, the Forsyth School for Dental Hygienists became affiliated with Northeastern University in 1962. The Northeastern-Forsyth partnership offered dental hygiene students a two-year certificate or a four-year bachelor's program through Northeastern's Bouvé College of Health Sciences. In 2002, the school was acquired by the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences.
James W. Fraser Photograph Collection
- Photographs collected by James W. Fraser depicting the events subsequent to Judge Arthur Garrity's 1974 decision to desegregate Boston public schools by means of forced busing.
Antoinette Frederick Papers
- Freelance writer Antoinette Frederick wrote two histories of Northeastern University entitled: Northeastern University An Emerging Giant: 1959-1975 in 1982 and Northeastern University Coming of Age: The Ryder Years, 1975-1989 in 1995. She collaborated with Asa S. Knowles for the 1986 publication, Shawmut: 150 Years of Banking, 1836-1986.
50th Anniversary Committee Records
- Established in 1946, the 50th Anniversary Committee was created to plan events celebrating Northeastern’s 50th anniversary from September 1947 through October 1948. The events included the dedication of the Carl S. Ell Student Center, a lecture series, and convocation and banquet.
50th Anniversary of Undergraduate Women Records
- In May 1993, Northeastern’s Women's Studies Program and Office of University Relations organized events to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the first women enrolled in Northeastern’s undergraduate day division in 1943 and to honor all the undergraduate women of Northeastern. The celebration included: a reunion for the women who enrolled in 1943, a speech by Patricia Ireland, president of the National Organization of Women (NOW), and a discussion with Pulitzer Prize-winning author Alice Walker.
William M. Fowler, Jr. Papers
- Educator and author William Morgan Fowler, Jr. (b. 1944), Northeastern Class of 1967, was a history professor and chair of the Northeastern Department of History. He left the University to become Director of the Massachusetts Historical Society from 1998-2006, returning as Distinguished Professor of History.
Harold A. Garabedian Papers
- In 1963, Harold A. Garabedian (1898-1974) along with Byron K. Elliot, president of the John Hancock, and Asa Knowles, president of Northeastern University (NU), developed the Graduate School of Actuarial Science (GSAS) at Northeastern University. Garabedian served as acting director of the GSAS until 1964 and stayed on as a professor for several years.
Robert P. Gittens Photographs [unprocessed]
- Robert P. Gittens, Northeastern University class of 1975, photographed speakers, students and events at NU during the 1970s for The Onyx Informer, the University’s African-American student newspaper.
Bernard Ludwig Gordon Papers [unprocessed]
- Bernard Ludwig Gordon was a professor in Northeastern's Earth Sciences Department from 1961 to 2003, and also a rare book dealer.
Calista M. Greenough Papers
- Librarian Calista M. Greenough (née Folsom), Class of 1946, was a member of the first co-ed class to enroll at Northeastern University in 1943, making her one of the first female graduates of Northeastern University.
Walter W. Hartford, Jr. Film
- Walter W. Hartford Jr. (b. ca. 1921) was president of Northeastern University's Class of 1943 and an electrical engineering major. During his academic career, Hartford filmed the Northeastern University Boston campus, students participating in various academic and extracurricular activities, and fraternity houses.
Gerald H. Herman Papers
- Gerald H. Herman (b. 1944), Northeastern Class of 1967, is a professor in the Northeastern Department of History. He serves as the Director of the Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, as history and liberal studies consultant for the School of Professional and Continuing Studies, and as a special assistant to the Office of the University Legal Counsel.
Lester E. Hintz Papers
- Accountant Lester E. Hintz (1908-2005), Northeastern Class of 1931, was a member of the Gamma Phi Kappa fraternity and one of the star players on the fraternity's basketball team. He was active in the Northeastern University Alumni Club of Connecticut.
Holocaust Awareness Committee Records
- Organized in 1991, the Northeastern University Holocaust Awareness Committee was established to remember the Holocaust not only as a historical fact and a memorial to its millions of victims, but also as a warning for the future. The Committee holds annual remembrance programs and activities including the Yom ha Sho'ah Memorial Service and Reading of Holocaust Victims Names, the Philip N. Backstrom Jr. Holocaust Survivors Speakers Series, and the Robert Salomon Morton Memorial Lecture.
Emma Stein Houseman Papers[unprocessed]
- Emma Stein Houseman was a 1962 graduate of Bouvé College of Health Sciences' Physical Therapy program.
Human Resource Management Records
- Human Resource Management is responsible for the University's compensation and benefits programs, employment and employee relations, human resources information systems, and training and development programs for the university community.
- The Huskiana collection, 1927-1992, is composed of materials relating to the Northeastern University's live husky mascots (King Husky I-V) and the commissioning of the husky statue.
Hus-skiers and Outing Club Records
- Founded in 1941 as the Hus-skiers, the Hus-skiers and Outing Club provides an opportunity for students, faculty, and alumni of Northeastern to take part in outdoor activities, such as skiing and hiking.
Inaugural Committee Records
- Established in 1959, the Northeastern University Inaugural Committee organizes and manages the induction ceremony of University presidents.
Institute of Taxation Records
- The Institute of Taxation (ca. 1955-1965) existed under the auspices of the Northeastern University College of Business Administration. The Institute presented a series of tax forums as continuing education opportunities for local tax professionals.
InterFraternity Council Records
- Founded in 1920 as the Pan-Hellenic Council, the InterFraternity Council maintains good relationships among fraternities on campus, promotes better understanding between themselves and the University, acts as the governing body of all fraternities, and sets the rules and standards for fraternities to follow.
International Student Office Records
- In 1975, the International Students Office separated from the Student Center to become a distinct unit. It provided services, educational programs, and social events for international students; helped the University understand international students’ needs; and served as a liaison to international student sponsors, such as the Latin American Scholarship Program for American Universities, and to American agencies, international agencies, and foreign and domestic governments. In 2002, the International Student Office was subsumed by the International Student and Scholar Institute.
Roderick L. Ireland Papers [unprocessed]
- Roderick L. Ireland was the first African-American justice appointed to the Supreme Judicial Court in its then 305-year history and its first African-American chief justice. Ireland retired from the Supreme Judicial Court in 2014. This collection is restricted until screened and processed.
- The Jet Negatives are a collection of photographic negatives documenting Northeastern University events, buildings, campuses, students, staff, and faculty taken by Jet Commercial Photographers from 1959-2007.
Jet Sports Negatives
- The Jet Sports Negatives are a collection of photographic negatives of Northeastern University athletic events and athletes taken by Jet Commercial Photographers from 1959-2004.
John D. O'Bryant African-American Institute
- The John D. O'Bryant African-American Institute was founded in 1972 to provide Northeastern’s African American students with services and programs to promote academic success and encourage civic and cultural engagement.
Clyde F. Joslyn Papers and Memorabilia
- Clyde Frederic Joslyn (1916-2002), Northeastern Class of 1939, was a feature editor for the student newspaper, The Northeastern News, president of the Phi Beta Alpha fraternity, a trumpet player in the band and Musical Club, and a member of the Junior Prom Committee, the International Relations Club, the Cauldron staff, and the Sigma Society, which is the honor society of the College of Business Administration.
Israel Katz Papers
- Israel Katz (1917-2003), Northeastern University Class of 1941, was a mechanical engineer, administrator, and faculty member at Northeastern University.
Harold Hamilton Kerr Papers
- Harold Hamilton Kerr (d. 1963) served on Northeastern’s Corporation, Board of Trustees, and Committee on Development from the 1940s to 1960s. He also owned the Boston Gear Works and was president of the National Metal Trader's Association.
Asa S. Knowles Papers
- Asa S. Knowles (1909-1990) was an educator, dean, third university president, and chancellor at Northeastern from 1931 to 1990. He was on the board of directors of Shawmut Bank of Boston and Shawmut Corporation, and he wrote a history on the bank entitled, Shawmut, 150 Years of Banking 1836-1986.
Harvey C. Krentzman Papers
- Harvey "Chet" Krentzman (1926-2005), Northeastern Class of 1949, founded Advanced Management Associates, Inc., a management company providing consulting services to small businesses; established the Small Business Institute as part of Northeastern’s Office of Adult and Continuing Education; and served on Northeastern’s Corporation and Board of Trustees.
Edward B. Landry Papers
- Edward B. Landry (1906-2000), Northeastern Class of 1929 and 1935, was active in Northeastern student government, serving on the Student Council, and was president and vice president of his class. In 1929, he graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Chemical Engineering, and later earning another B.S. in Engineering in 1935. After graduation, he founded the Metropolitan Washington, D.C. Alumni Club and served as its president.
Paul M. Levenson Papers
- World War II veteran Paul M. Levenson (1917-2001), Northeastern Class of 1940, was an engineer with Platt Construction Company in Cambridge, Massachusetts and vice president of the Boston construction firm, J. Slotnick Company.
William Lieberman Papers
- William Lieberman (b. ca. 1966), Northeastern Class of 1968, worked in the field of transportation. He wrote Chapter 5, "The Winthrop Loop", in Robert C. Stanley's Narrow Gauge: The Story of the Boston, Revere Beach and Lynn Railroads. Additional unprocessed material available.
Lowell Institute School Records
- The Lowell Institute School was founded at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1903 as the School for Industrial Foremen. In 1996, the Lowell Institute School was transferred to Northeastern University, becoming a division of the School of Engineering Technology. The School offers classes in engineering technology with an emphasis on applications and problem solving.
Lowell Institute School Alumni Association Records
- The Lowell Institute School was founded at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1903 as the School for Industrial Foremen. Its Alumni Association was founded in 1905 by members of the Lowell Institute School's first graduating class. The Association’s activity waned considerably during the early 1970s; nevertheless, the Association's bulletin, the Alumni News, continued to be published until 1996 when the Lowell Institute School moved to Northeastern University.
Minnie L. Lynn Papers
- A leader and scholar of physical education, Minnie Lynetta Lynn (1902-1990) was director of the Bouvé-Boston School and orchestrated the School’s merger with Northeastern University to form the Boston–Bouvé College, now called the Bouvé College of Health Sciences. She served as dean of the new college from 1964 to 1967.
Edward F. Lyons, Jr. Papers
- Edward F. Lyons, Jr. (1899-1990), Northeastern University Class of 1921, was a lawyer and a member of the prosecution staff at the Borkum Island trial, a case involving the assault and murder of seven United States airmen, during World War II.
Robert B. MacGregor Papers
- Robert B. MacGregor (ca. 1925-2001), Northeastern Class of 1947, was an industrial engineer and a Lieutenant in the United States Naval Reserve.
Marine Science Center Records
- The Marine Science institute, later renamed Marine Science Center, was founded in 1967 to provide space for master and doctoral level students and visiting scientists to conduct research in ocean chemistry, water quality, and pollution. Research endeavors later included marine ecology, behavior, neurobiology, structural biology, biochemistry, and molecular biology.
Robert Joseph Markell Papers
- An engineer by trade, Robert Joseph Markell (b. 1924), Northeastern University Class of 1944, was a scenic designer for CBS-TV from 1949 to 1959, a television producer for the ABC police drama NYPD from 1967-1969, and executive producer of dramatic programs for CBS-TV in 1973.
Everett C. Marston Papers
- Everett C. Marston (1903-1970) was a Professor of English at Northeastern from 1927 to 1968. From the 1930s until his death, he wrote several short stories, plays, novels, and an early history of Northeastern entitled Origin and Development of Northeastern University 1898-1960.
Joseph P. McGuckian Papers
- Joseph P. McGuckian (1907-1982), Northeastern Class of 1930, was a member of the Northeastern Flying Club and the Nominating Committee, a member of the soccer and hockey teams, and was voted Junior Class Secretary and Senate president.
Michael Meltsner Papers
- Michael Meltsner (b. 1937) served as Dean and Professor of Law at Northeastern’s School of Law from 1979–1984 before being appointed as the George J. and Kathleen Waters Matthews Distinguished University Professor in 1984. Meltsner left Northeastern to serve as a visiting professor and director of the First-Year Lawyering Program at Harvard Law School until 2005 when he returned to teach at Northeastern’s School of Law.
- The Memorabilia collection consists of artifacts (1914-present) that were presented to or commissioned by Northeastern University, including awards, flags, banners, medals, clothing, hat wear, and jewelry.
Norman G. Miclette Papers
- Norman G. Miclette (1927-2001) was a student in Northeastern’s School of Business from 1955-1958.
Gay W. Milbrandt Athletic Medals
- Gay W. Milbrandt (b. ca. 1913), Northeastern Class of 1935, set Northeastern indoor and outdoor records in shot put that lasted for over 20 years. He was captain of the track team from 1933-34 and won the Alumni Track Trophy as the team’s most valuable member.
Motion Picture Collection
- The Motion Picture collection consists of films documenting life at Northeastern University, including groundbreaking and construction of Northeastern buildings, President Knowles' inauguration, and President Ell's Alumni Testimonial Dinner.
William Joseph Mulcahy, Jr. Papers
- William Joseph Mulcahy, Jr. (1953-2001) graduated from Northeastern’s University College with a Bachelor of Science degree in 1968.