Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Services: Online ResearchTools

a guide to online and print resources for human services research.

Sage Research Methods

Reference Sources

SAGE Research Methods is an online collection of research tools (handbooks, encyclopedias, guides, videos) to conduct research. There's also a help guide from the publisher.

 

Bibliography/Citation Style Guides
         APA Online
 
       
ASA  American Sociological Association Style Manual provided by OWL at Purdue University 


DSM 5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of  Mental Disorders, 5th edition) is available online 

 
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services page links to dictionaries, publications and reports, statistics and other resources.

Helpful link to
HHS Acronyms and Abbreviations goes to relevant homepages.

 

HealthMeasures provides free access to hundreds of self- and proxy-report measures from the four measurement systems, along with information to help users select, administer, score, and interpret measures

 

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: IBSS contains over 2 million citations and abstracts to articles, books, book chapters in the social sciences and for interdisciplinary research.

 

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd edition  is a specialized resource covering all aspects of social and behavioral sciences.

 

Massachusetts State Portal links to State Offices, Courts and has an A-Z list of state agencies
 

Sage Handbook of Qualitative Research in Reference Storage.

 

Sage Handbook of Social Work Research

 

World Health Organization includes information about health topics, countries and data in global perspective.

 

Check the Merck Manual, Consumer Version for beginning research on social or environmental issues related to health. For example, how does poverty and environment contribute to asthma in children?

News Sources from the NU Libraries

 

Use your MyNortheastern account to access these news sources when off-campus:

 

PressReader provides online access to today's newspapers from over 100 countries around the world in over 60 languages.

 

Worldpress.org: News and Views from around the World provides articles from Africa, Americas, Asia-Pacific, Europe, Middle East, and Front Page news.Useful source for international human services information.

Websites of Interest by specialization

Administration and Policy

National Association of Social Workers (NASW) the largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world, NASW works to enhance the professional growth and development of its members, to create and maintain professional standards, and to advance sound social policies

The Official Website of  of the Office of Health and Human Services (EOHHS) for Massachusetts, provides information for consumers, providers, researchers and the government.

Social Psychology Network, maintained by Scott Plous, Wesleyan University, contains over 16,000 links related to psychological research and teaching. Includes directories, new stories and discussion forums for students and professionals. 

Communities

Office of Public Policy and Research (PP&R) and HUD USER provides information on housing needs, market conditions and programs to help develop cohesive, economically healthy communities.

Campus Safety Magazine, an open access resource, often contains articles related to school and college mental health, such as 
Takiing a Community-Based Approach to Mental Health

Healthcare

Centers for Population Health and Health Disparities, an affiliation of eight research centers established by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in 2003.

HRSA (Health Resources and Services Administration) is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Official U.S. Government Site for People with Medicare

Planning for Long Term Care, a guide developed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.


Populations:

AARP, formerly known as American Association for Retired Persons, is a non-governmental organization advocating for the interest of persons aged 50 and over. Their webpage links to information on aging and the 50+ generation, social, psychological, economic, policy, and healthcare aspects of aging.

Annie E. Casey Foundation: Helping Vulnerable Kids and Families Succeed website includes the KIDS COUNT®  project,a national and state-by-state effort to track the well-being of children in the United States.

 Poverty and Welfare

Poverty Solutions  is a University of Michigan initiative with the aim to find solutions to alleviate poverty through conducting and promoting multidisciplinary, policy-relevant research.

Open Development, World Bank resource.

Poverty Guidelines, Research and Measurement is a one-stop research site on poverty in the United States. Guidelines developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Poverty Measurement Studies and Alternative Measures a link to new methods of measuring poverty levels from the National Academy of Sciences.

How the Census Bureau Measures Poverty

World Bank Blogs--click on All Blogs to get a list of links to blogs from the World Bank 

Massachusetts Health and Human Services Blog