Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.
Google Patent Search
Covers patents made available by the USPTO from the 1790s to the middle of 2006. Search the full text of U.S. patents; use Advanced Patent Search
to search by various criteria including patent number, inventor, and filing date. Does not include patent applications, international patents, or U.S. patents issued over the last few months. Patents can be downloaded as PDF.
Free Patents Online
Patents available in PDF format. Offers chemical search. Use the SureChem gateway to do a chemical patent search on full text collections for United States, European and world patents.
PATENTSCOPE® Search Service enables you to do full-text search in over 1.6 million published international patent applications from the first publication in 1978. Includes 'how to use' videos.
WIPO's (World International Property Organization's) Gateway to Patent Services and Activities.
A free resource available through Patents Online Pty Ltd.
European Patent Office
European Patent Office (EPO). Database of the European Patent Office includes European Patents (EP), Patent Cooperation Treaty worldwide patents (WO), Japanese patents (PAJ) and patent applications in their original language. Has information on more than 30 million patents.
HINT: Click below on Patent Information Tour
Patent Search Tutorials
To get started, this two-minute video demonstrating Google Patent Search is a good first step. For more targeted searches of the most current patents in the U.S., check out the five-minute video tutorial on searching USPTO.
Protecting Intellectual Property Rights