Policy Overviews
The policy resources listed in the boxes below are categorized geographically: national, state/regional, etc.
- Policy Commons and PolicyFile can help you identify policy organizations working in your area of interest.
- Also consider the American Policy Directory, an extensive list of policy organizations compiled by staff at the University of Oregon Libraries.
- Also, try the NU Library Public Policy and Urban Affairs Guide.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowPolicy Commons compiles and organizes domestic and international policy literature from think tanks, IGOs, NGOs, research centers, and government agencies, Policy Commons currently provides access to 3 million publications and offers a directory more than 23,000 organizations with work included in the collection.
- PolicyFile This link opens in a new windowIndexes and links to publications from 350 think tanks, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and intergovernmental organizations (IGOs). PolicyFile may be used to identify single-issue policy groups. Domestic and international coverage.
- Congressional Research Service (CRS)CRS is a non-partisan research branch of the U.S. Congress. Given the broad range of policy issues covered and the expertise of CRS staff, these reports can provide an excellent starting point for research.
- Government Accountability Office (GAO)GAO is a non-partisan agency which investigates government spending and advises Congress of its findings. GAO reports frequently provide insight into policy initiatives and policy failures. Check the Key Issues page.
State Level Policy Resources
A number of these web sites facilitate comparative research across states.
- The National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) creates portals and databases which compare issues/legislation across states (sample issues include medical and recreational marijuana; state immigration laws; sanctuary policies; and climate change).
- NCSL provides links to state legislatures.
- The Council of State Government Knowledge Center is a useful source for state data and performance indicators.
- National Conference of State LegislaturesAn excellent site for conducting comparative research on a broad range of public policy issues. Select "Topics" from the Research menu. Part of the site is restricted for legislative staff use only.
- Council of State Governments Knowledge CenterProvides publications and policy resources organized by issue (transportation, elections, etc). The Knowledge Center also contains the Book of the States which provides essays and comparative state data, 1935 to present.
- National Governors AssociationThe "Best Practices" area of the NGA site has several policy divisions which highlight policy initiatives and provide publications.
- National Governors Association Center for Best PracticesCheck the program areas for policy initiatives.
Massachusetts State and Regional Policy Resources
- MassINC (Massachusetts Institute for a New Commonwealth)MassINC covers a broad range of policy issues. Publishes Commonwealth Magazine and supports a polling center.
City/Urban Area Policy Resources
- U.S. Conference of MayorsSee especially, the issues, programs, and resources pages.
Massachusetts City Policy Resources
- BARI (Boston Area Research Initiative)Joint initiative of Northeastern, Harvard, and the City of Boston. BARI's Boston Data Portal, includes the Boston Data Library and the Boston Research Map.