About Africana Studies at Northeastern
Northeastern University Africana Studies is a truly global and interdisciplinary degree. College graduates with Africana Studies degrees have become doctors, lawyers, entertainers, politicians, public health professionals, diplomats, professors, astronauts, journalists, engineers, artists, poets, executives, entrepreneurs, and more!
Database Trials Please take the time to let us know your thoughts on these resources by completing the Evaluation Form. Your input will help us make library resource decisions.
Recommend a Purchase
Suggest a book, journal, or license for an electronic resource for purchase by the Library.
Key Resources
Starting your research and need some background information?
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd edition (opens in new window) covers concepts such as race relations, discrimination, race and urban planning.in detailed articles
Suggested interdisciplinary databases:
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowScholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association publications, Abstracts and links to full text, about half are peer reviewed, covering all academic subjects including STEM fields.
-
CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of the Northeastern School of Law
Working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. 1991 to the present. -
Economist This link opens in a new windowWeekly international news and business publication, The online edition features content from 1997 to the present.
- Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. - International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest 2009 (Wiley) This link opens in a new windowScholarly signed and referenced articles on people and events in the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOne of the most trusted sources for scholarly books and historical journal back files. Now includes searchable images and image collections.
- Literature Resource Center (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new windowCourtesy of the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System
Provides full text biographical and critical articles about literary authors, together with critical reactions to their works and bibliographies for further research. - MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowDetailed information about 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing.
- PAIS International plus Archive (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowPublic Affairs Information Service offers abstracts of scholarship and professional literature from 1915 to present. International in scope, broad range of social science topics. Includes links to full text where available for Northeastern-owned books, journal articles, conference proceedings, and many government publications.
- Project Syndicate This link opens in a new windowA unique source of opinion pages from news outlets around the world. Good for debate and argument essays or to research a range of views on current events.
- Social Sciences Premium Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new windowScholarly and professional citations and abstracts with full text links in politics and public policy, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, information sciences and education. Professional society databases included.
