Research Subject Guides: MUSC 3353 Music and the Racial Imagination: Getting Started and Text Resources

Your Librarian

She/hers

Email Me

Contact:

6173732747

Subjects: Arts, Media, Music, and Design, International Affairs and Area Studies, Middle East Studies

Welcome to the course guide for MUSC 3353, Prof. Inglese's Music and the Racial Imagination.

Below are the resources we reviewed in class on January 27. You can also explore our guide to Reframing the Music Classroom.

If you need additional guidance in locating resources, please feel free to contact me for an appointment.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of articles on a global range of topics: historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments, voice, dance, music therapy.
- What this includes: Articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, conference proceedings, reviews, and more. Covers 1967 - present.

Access World News Research Collection (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Our largest general news source, with current and complete newspapers, magazines, wire services from around the world. Backfiles sometimes go back to the 1980s. Text only.
View a list of all sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text newspapers, magazines and journals of American ethnic, minority and indigenous communities. Offers additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
Includes the Bay State Banner, an independent newspaper primarily geared toward the interests of Boston's African-American community, and the Boston Irish Reporter.
Historical Black Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A rich collection important to a full understanding of Unites States history. Includes the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975),Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
RIPM Jazz Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Facsimiles of 105 full text American jazz journals published between 1914 and 2006. Significant journals include, among others, Cadence, Down Beat, Mississippi Rag, and Record Changer. Images, advertisements included.

Use for primary sources--often available online, but sometimes require travel

Northeastern digitized archival collections: https://repository.library.northeastern.edu

Larry Katz Interviews (Northeastern University) This link opens in a new window
The Katz Tapes were compiled by Larry Katz, a former music critic and columnist at the Boston Herald who recorded hundreds of interviews he conducted with musicians, both internationally famous and local Boston-based artists. The majority of the collection focuses on music and musicians, but there are also interviews with authors, writers, comedians, and actors.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
A catalog of archival holdings in chiefly North American libraries. Use to learn where to find archives related to people, events, and more.