Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIOL 2309: Biology Project Lab

Find Methods and Protocols

Methods and protocols can be surprisingly tricky to locate.  When looking for protocols in a database, like Web of Science, you'll likely have the most luck by searching for your topic and/or organism, plus a term like 'method', 'protocol', or other synonym.

Below are some resources that may be helpful as a starting point in your research.

Selected Resources for Protocols

Methods in Cell Biology 

Methods in Cell Biology is a journal that has built up a deep library of biological methods to study model developmental organisms, organelles and cell systems, as well as comprehensive coverage of microscopy and other analytical approaches. You have access to all issues in this journal starting from 1964 to the present. 

Some specific volumes that might be of particular interest for your work in this course:


Molecular cloning: a laboratory manual  

A mainstay of molecular biology for over twenty years, this manual covers a range of techniques and protocols.


Wormbook

Wormbook is a comprehensive, open-access collection of original, peer-reviewed chapters covering topics related to the biology of Caenorhabditis elegans and other nematodes. There is also a section called WormMethods, which contains a collection of protocols for nematode researchers.


WormBase

WormBase is an international consortium of biologists and computer scientists dedicated to providing the research community with accurate, current, accessible information concerning the genetics, genomics and biology of C. elegans and related nematodes.  


C. elegans: Methods and applications

This print book of C. elegans methods is currently stored off site. If you would like to request it, please click here


JoVE:  the Journal of Visualized Experiments

JoVE is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Watch experts perform protocols before attempting them yourself.

Encyclopedia of Experiments: Caenorhabditis elegansThis collection features research techniques for the metazoan Caenorhabditis elegans. This nematode worm is a powerful model system due to its transparent body, defined developmental plan, robust genetic tools, and neuro-behavioral paradigms.    

Another example video shows you how to do a Western blot.


Nature Protocols

An online resource for authoritative, peer-reviewed protocols and an interactive Protocols Network. The two create a dynamic forum for scientists to upload and comment on protocols.


Nature Methods

Nature Methods is a science methodology journal publishing laboratory techniques and methods papers in the life sciences and areas of chemistry relevant to the life sciences.


Nature Reviews Methods Primer

Nature Reviews Methods Primers is an online-only journal publishing high-quality Primer articles covering analytical, applied, statistical, theoretical and computational methods used in the life and physical sciences.


Company websites can be good resources for basic protocols.  Some examples:

New England Biolabs

Qiagen - Molecular biology methods


Other websites with protocols include: