Aperture Magazine
- Aperture Magazine (online) (Opens in new window)Aperture Magazine focuses on photography, featuring writing about contemporary photography and photographs from established and emerging photographers. Founded in 1952, this international journal is published quarterly by the Aperture Foundation, which is based in New York. Issues are generally organized around a theme or photographer. Online access is available through JSTOR (Note: issues from the last 3 years are not available online).
- Aperture Magazine (in print)Browse print issues from 2018 to present. They are located on the lower level with the print collection. They are shelved near the TR book section.
Additional Journals and Magazines
- The British Journal of Photography (online)Published since 1854, the British Journal of Photography is a magazine about photography. It includes photographer profiles, interviews, articles, and more in themed issues. The Northeastern University Library has online access to issues from 2009 on, but does not include the most recent few issues.
Key Databases for Articles
- Art, Design, and Architecture Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of scholarly, peer-reviewed articles and professional association news and information from current publications in the fields of visual, and applied arts. Links to full text.
- Library Stack This link opens in a new windowE-books and other digital materials from the arts, design, theory, and architecture fields. Includes often-overlooked ephemera such as artists ebooks, podcasts, filmed lectures, typefaces, and more. Some items require registration (free) to view.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOne of the most trusted sources for scholarly books and historical journal backfiles. Beginning in 2023, JSTOR also includes Artstor images of art and primary source artifacts.
