Skip to main content

Research Fundamentals: Home

A guide to print and online resources for starting your research.

Checklist for Research

  • Express your research topic in the form of a statement or a question and identify pertinent keywords
  • Determine the type and amount of information you need
  • Select the appropriate research tools.
  • Search the research databases effectively to retrieve relevant results
  • Evaluate search results and refine your search if necessary
  • Get the full text of the materials you need
  • Understand the legal and ethical issues involved in use of the materials you have collected
  • Cite your sources

Research Tutorials

NEW!  Check out our new Research Tutorials for more help.  These brief videos will quickly put you on the right track at each step of the research process.  

 

Key Resources

Building a toolkit for research. Below are a suggested group of large interdisciplinary databases that cover a variety of disciplines across Northeastern. This is only a brief introduction to databases. Explore this guide and other guides in order to conduct more in-depth research in specific subject guides.   

Engineering Village

A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. Contains over 9 million records, and references to over 5000 international sources, including journals, conferences and trade publications, 1969 to present.

 

JSTOR

Large, interdisciplinary collection of journal articles, additional in-depth, scholarly treatment of specific works or themes in that author's output, useful for articles in sociological disciplines not covered by MLA Bibliography. 

 

MLA Bibliography

The core collection of scholarly information for literature - specialized journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and conference proceedings for in-depth treatments of your author or work. 

Scholar OneSearch, "Library Catalogs"

Find print and online copies of an author's work, or book-length critical analysis of that author.

 

Statista

Data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. 

 

Web of Science

Web of Science indexes over 11,000 scholarly journals in the sciences (1975-present). Web of Science's strength is in its interdisciplinary focus and its ability to perform citation searching.

  Why Use the Library?

Web search engines such as Google are convenient for quickly finding information that is freely available online. 

But:

  • Much of the most valuable and important material is not free.  
  • Web search engines offer limited search options.

Library databases:

  • Offer flexible search options that help you to quickly identify the best content on your topic. 
  • Link to the full text or to options for quickly obtaining the full text at no cost.
  • Help you to manage your content and cite it properly.

First Year Experience / Undergraduate Engagement Librarian

Evie Cordell's picture
Evie Cordell
Contact:

270 Snell Library
617-373-4646

Meet our Research and Writing Team

Subject Librarians Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Subject Librarians work in several Library departments. They assist individuals and small groups with research projects.

Digital Media Commons Edit/Delete Quick Stats
DMC is a collection of collaborative work and teaching spaces, with expert help in using the digital and 3-D resources.

Archives and Special Collections Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Archives staff members work with primary source materials in both print and digital form.

The Writing Center
The Northeastern University Writing Center is open to any member of the NU community and exists to help any level writer, from any academic discipline, become a better writer.The Writing Center offers face-to-face appointments at 412 Holmes Hall, same-day appointments at 136 Snell library (behind the Argo Tea), and online appointments.  Book an appointment here!

ITS (Information Technology Services) training includes software workshops. You will need to login in to your MyNEU account in order to browse the schedule and register.