Contact Me |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Support for OA at NU
Northeastern University supports open access to information.
The Faculty Senate has twice passed resolutions in favor of providing open access to the scholarly output of the university:
- 2005-06 Faculty Senate Ad Hoc Committee on Library Policies and Operations Resolution on Open Access (PDF)
- Amended Resolution #2 of the 2007-08 Library Policies and Operations Committee Report (PDF)
The NU Libraries also support OA through their memberships in:
- BioMedCentral
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
- Public Library of Science (PLoS)
(See the Open Access Journals and Open Access Collections of Scholarly Research tabs for more info on these and other resources.)
The Libraries are digitizing books in the public domain and making them available to the world through the Internet Archive, via the services of the Open Content Alliance.
In addition, the Libraries have signed on in support of SCOAP³, a proposal to redirect journal subscription fees to support open access to high-energy physics literature.
OA in the News
This feed features current news and information on OA. The feed is managed by Hillary Corbett, Scholarly Communication Librarian.
Loading...
Contribute
What is Open Access?
Open Access is about changing the way scholars share their work with the world.
Open Access means making research available online to the public to read and use free of charge and with as few restrictions as possible. Authors participating in open access, whether through self-archiving in an institutional repository or publishing in open access journals, often retain more rights to their work than those publishing in fee-based journals and enjoy the benefits of greater distribution to a more diverse audience. The public benefits from having access to the best and most up-to-date information available, including medical research and scientific discoveries.
In 2002, the Budapest Open Access Initiative defined open access as the "world-wide electronic distribution of the peer-reviewed journal literature, completely free and unrestricted access to it by all scientists, scholars, teachers, students, and other curious minds." Since then, the concept of open access has grown to include similarly free and unrestricted access to textbooks, data, and other scholarly and academic resources.
For more information, see the list of additional resources below.
Video Introduction to Open Access
Learn More About Open Access
- Open-Access Journals Break Barriers to Academic Freedom - Faculty - The Chronicle of Higher EducationArticle from the Chronicle Of Higher Education, February 23, 2010
- Open Access OverviewPeter Suber offers an introduction to open access (OA) for those who are new to the concept.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsThis service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in as many subjects and languages as possible.
- Enabling Open Scholarship - EOS - HomeThe aim of (EOS) is to further the opening up of scholarship and research through the growing open access, open education, open science and open innovation movements.
- Campus Open Access Policies (SPARC)SPARC has coordinated with open-access policy leaders and experts to develop this new set of resources to support data-driven, community-engaging, and successful open-access policy development at institutions everywhere.
- Open Access Scholarly Information Sourcebook (OASIS)OASIS aims to provide an authoritative ‘sourcebook’ on Open Access, covering the concept, principles, advantages, approaches and means to achieving it. This site has content areas for researchers, librarians, publishers, administrators, & students.
- Open Access (PDF)A brochure from SPARC outlining the basics of Open Access.
- Open Access NewsThis blog featuring open access news and announcements is updated nearly every day.
- Open Access BibliographyBibliography of more than 1300 resources about the open access movement. Most resources date from 1999 to 2004.
- Open Access DirectoryHosted by Simmons College, the Open Access Directory (OAD) is a compendium of simple factual lists about open access to science and scholarship,
- SPARC Open Access NewsletterPublished monthly. To subscribe directly send an email to SPARC-OANews-feed@arl.org
- What you can do to helpFrom the Budapest Open Access Initiative - suggestions for furthering open access to scholarly work.
- Create ChangeAn educational initiative that examines new opportunities in scholarly communication and advocates changes that recognize the potential of the networked digital environment.
- A field guide to misunderstandings about open accessPeter Suber debunks Open Access myths.
- National Institutes of Health Public Access Policy (Alliance for Taxpayer Access)The ATA is a coalition of patient groups, physicians, researchers, educational institutions, publishers, and health promotion organizations that support barrier-free access to taxpayer-funded research.
License and Credits
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.
Portions of this guide are reused from Eleta Exline's Scholarly Communication and Open Access Guide at the University of New Hampshire.


Submit
Loading...
