Skip to main content

Research Fundamentals: ENGW 1111 / Melissa Pearson

A guide to print and online resources for starting your research.

Resource Links

Multi-modal Identities

A short film from Media That Matters -- check the website for more short films.

 

   use the search box at the top of the screen to locate films related to your topic. 

 

ACI Scholarly Blog Index

Suggested Books

Meet our Research and Writing Team

Subject Librarians Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Subject Librarians can work with you, or small groups,  with research projects.

Digital Media Commons Edit/Delete Quick Stats
DMC. contains collaborative work and teaching spaces, with expert help in using the digital and 3-D resources.

Get video help

Thomas Bary, Digital Media Specialist
Jonathan Iannone, Digital Media Supervisor

Archives and Special Collections Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Archives staff members work with primary source materials in both print and digital form.

The Writing Center
The Northeastern University Writing Center is open to any member of the NU community and exists to help any level writer, from any academic discipline, become a better writer.The Writing Center offers face-to-face appointments at 412 Holmes Hall and online appointments.  Book an appointment here!

ITS (Information Technology Services) training includes public speaking practice, as well as software workshops. You will need to login in to your MyNEU account in order to browse the schedule and register.

Video tutorials for WordPress are accessible from the library's page for Lynda.com

Basic Search Tools

Search Scholar OneSearch or

Choose a search tool recommended in Research Guides by Subject
 
or try an interdisciplinary database, such as

 Academic Search Premier   one of the  family of databases
 (use Advanced Search to focus on your discipline)

 Use one or more of your key words to do a broad search, then narrow it down. 

Review the PLAN page for more suggestions.

Best Bets for Research

Global Issues in Context     

NOTE: Click on View All to the the issues.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context  --  for starting research on the persuastive, or pros and cons paper

 CQ Researcher full text collection covering major issues with an overview article, pros and cons, chronology (timeline of the issue), along with a bibliography. NOTE: Browse through topics-- there are a manageable number of titles.

LexisNexis Academic  has a Hot Topics box on their search page---here's a sample of recent topics

 

Working with Books

FIND YOUR BOOK BY CALL NUMBER

Call numbers are based on the Library of Congress Classification. More importantly, it's how you can find things in the library.

Some hints to understanding a call number and finding your "stuff" on the shelf:

  • The first letters of the call number represent the subject of the book.
  • The letter-and-decimal section of the call number often represents the author's last name.
  • The last section of a call number is often the date of publication.
    Here's an example from University of California Santa Cruz Library 
    (accessed 2 April 2013)

 

If you want to see ALL of the subjects under the call number system used at the NU Libraries, check out the Library of Congress Classification page