Skip to main content

Research Fundamentals: ENG 1004 / Daniel Burt

A guide to print and online resources for starting your research.

Meet our Research and Writing Team

Subject Librarians Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Subject Librarians work in several Library departments. They assist individuals and small groups with research projects.

Digital Media Commons Edit/Delete Quick Stats
DMC is a collection of collaborative work and teaching spaces, with expert help in using the digital and 3-D resources.

Archives and Special Collections Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Archives staff members work with primary source materials in both print and digital form.

The Writing Center
The Northeastern University Writing Center is open to any member of the NU community and exists to help any level writer, from any academic discipline, become a better writer.The Writing Center offers face-to-face appointments at 412 Holmes Hall, same-day appointments at 136 Snell library (behind the Argo Tea), and online appointments.  Book an appointment here!

Academic Honesty and Plagiarism

Northeastern University is committed to the principles of intellectual honesty and integrity and to respecting intellectual property.  See detailed guidelines for Academic Integrity Policy as set by Office of Student Conduct and Conflict Resolution (OSCCR).

Also check out the subject guide on Plagiarism and How to Avoid It

  Develop your Research Question or Thesis

Start by writing a question or statement that describes your topic.  For example:

  • How can architects design buildings that are both aesthetically pleasing and in keeping with the goals of sustainability? 

  • The bank bailouts didn't help the U.S. economy.

  • Wikipedia is an important research tool.

  • Is it a good idea to legalize marijuana?

Best Bets for Research

Global Issues in Context     

NOTE: Click on View All to the the issues.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context  --  for starting research on the persuastive, or pros and cons paper

  CQ Researcher full text collection covering major issues with an overview article, pros and cons, chronology (timeline of the issue), along with a bibliography. NOTE: Browse through topics-- there are a manageable number of titles.

Academic Search Premier will search and link to CQ Researcher full text. And it will help with your MLA bibliography. Don't forget to check the CITATION tab on the webpage for additional citation help.

LexisNexis Academic  has a Hot Topics box on their search page---here's a sample of recent topics

 

Need Help?