Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, & Queer

A guide to historical materials housed in the Northeastern University Libraries, Archives and Special Collections Department.

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Collections

A drag queen celebrating Pridefest in Boston’s Copley Square, ca. 1993. Photograph from the Fenway Community Health Center collection.orge Castillo, left, and Josean Ortiz, right, performing a scene from 'Strawberry and Chocolate' sponsored by the Theater Offensive, a theater dedicated to queer and progressive  theatrical works, 1995. Photograph from the Theater Offensive collection.Marchers carrying a Gay Community News (GCN) banner down Boylston Street during Boston’s Gay Pride Parade, ca. 1978. Photograph from the Bromfield Street Educational Foundation collection.A mother and her children supporting the GLBT Family & Parenting Services offered by Fenway Community Health Center during a GLBT parade, ca. 1990. Photograph from the Fenway Community Health Center collection.

 

ACT UP / Boston (David Stitt) Collection

  • David Stitt was a member and volunteer with the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power Boston chapter (ACT UP/Boston) during the 1980s-1990s. Founded in 1987, ACT UP / Boston focused local efforts and accelerated the development of AIDS treatments, AIDS educational programs, and AIDS prevention strategies.

ACT UP (Robert Folan-Johnson) Collection [unprocessed]

  • The AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power (ACT UP / Boston) was founded in 1987 by activists Raymond Schmidt, Stephen Skuce, Donald Smith, and Paul Wychules to focus local efforts to speed up the development of AIDS treatments, educational programs, and prevention strategies.

ACT UP / Boston (Raymond Schmidt and Stephen Skuce) Collection

  • Founded in 1987, the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power (ACT UP / Boston) was established by activists to focus local efforts and accelerate the development of AIDS treatments, educational programs, and prevention strategies. In 1996, members voted to cease holding weekly meetings.

AIDS Action Committee of Massachusetts, Inc. Records

  • Founded in 1983, the AIDS Action Committee's mission is to provide support services to people with AIDS, their families, and friends; educate the general public; and secure funding for policies. Additional unprocessed material available.

Bisexual Resource Center Records

  • Founded in 1985, the Bisexual Resource Center is a Boston based non–profit organization that provides support to bisexual or bi–friendly individuals and organizations and raises awareness about bisexuality and bisexual people. Additional unprocessed material available.

Bisexual Resource Center (Beer) Records [unprocessed]

  • The Bisexual Resource Center is a Boston-based nonprofit organization founded in 1985 as the East Coast Bisexual Network, Inc., which works to build alliances among, and combat biphobia within, the gay, lesbian, and transgender communities.

Boston Alliance of Gay and Lesbian Youth, Inc. Records

  • The Boston Alliance of Gay and Lesbian Youth, Inc. known as BAGLY, Inc., was founded in 1980 as the first youth-run organization for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender youth in Boston

Boston Gay Men's Chorus Records [unprocessed]

  • The Boston Gay Men’s Chorus, founded in 1982, is a 175-voice ensemble focusing on creative programming and community outreach.

Boston Intercollegiate Lesbian and Gay Alliance Records

  • The Boston Intercollegiate Lesbian and Gay Alliance (BILGA) was created in 1983 as an umbrella organization for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender student groups in the Boston area.

Boston Living Center Records

  • Founded in 1989, the Boston Living Center is a nonprofit community organization providing education, support, and treatment information for HIV positive people. Additional unprocessed material available.

Bromfield Street Educational Foundation Records

  • Founded in 1973, the Bromfield Street Educational Foundation advocated for gay rights and promoted awareness of gay lifestyles; published the Gay Community News, one of the oldest, most progressive, national newspapers in the gay community; and sponsored projects, including the Prisoner Project, a means to assist gays and lesbians in prison. In 1999, the Bromfield Street Educational Foundation ceased operations. Additional unprocessed material available.

Bromfield Street Educational Foundation Prison Newsletter Collection

  • The Bromfield Street Educational Foundation collected newsletters created by prisons and organizations in support of prisoners to raise awareness of conditions faced by inmates in the U.S. Penal System from 1972-1996.

John E. Bush Papers

  • Activist and educator John E. Bush is a co–founder of Men of All Colors Together Boston, founded 1980, and a 1988 co–chair of the National Association of Black and White Men Together. Additional unprocessed material available.

William J. Canfield Papers

  • William J. Canfield (b. 1946) was a gay activist in Boston and was involved in the Boston gay liberation movement between 1970 and 1975. Additional unprocessed material available.

The Coalition to Take Back the Night Records

  • In 1978 a group of women from Boston area community organizations gathered to organize demonstrations opposing acts of intimidation and violence against women. The focus of Take Back the Night has widened to include gay and lesbian rights, gender equality, sexuality in culture, and date rape education.

Milburn Devenney Papers

  • Milburn Devenney is a social worker and registered nurse in the Boston area who worked with AIDS patients during the 1980s and 1990s.

Keri Lynn Duran Papers

  • Keri Lynn Duran (1962-1995) was an activist and educator who worked on behalf of people with Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) and the Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) before dying of AIDS-related lymphoma.

G. Derrick Hodge Papers

  • G. Derrick Hodge was a member of ACT UP/Boston and Queer Nation/Boston. The AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power (ACT UP/Boston) was founded in 1987 by activists Raymond Schmidt, Stephen Skuce, Donald Smith, and Paul Wychules to focus local efforts to speed up the development of AIDS treatments, educational programs, and prevention strategies. Queer Nation was an offshoot of ACT UP, created in response to elevated anti-gay and lesbian violence in the early 1990s.

Michael Roos Papers [unprocessed]

  • Michael Roos, born Michael Galvin, was a member of ACT UP/Boston (the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power), a diverse, nonpartisan group united in anger and committed to direct action to end the AIDS crisis, and acted as the local distributor of AIDS Community Television programs produced in New York from ca. 1988-1992.

Fenway Community Health Center Records

  • Founded in 1971, the Fenway Community Health Center, currently called Fenway Health, provides health care to lesbian and gay, elderly, and low-income population of the Fenway and of Boston in general.

Gay Academic Union of New England Records

  • The Gay Academic Union (GAU) was founded in 1973 to institutionalize gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender studies and activism at colleges and universities throughout the United States until its disbandment in 1984.

Gay and Lesbian Labor Activists Network Records

  • Established in 1987, the Gay and Lesbian Labor Activists Network campaigns for lesbian and gay liberation, fights against homophobia in the labor movement, and educates the lesbian and gay community about the importance of organized labor.

John C. Graves Papers

  • John C. Graves (1938-2003), a gay activist, educator, and counselor, was involved in the gay liberation movement in Boston during the 1970s.

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Political Alliance of Massachusetts Records

  • Founded as the Lesbian and Gay Political Alliance of Greater Boston in 1982, the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Political Alliance of Massachusetts is a political advocacy organization for gay and lesbian rights.

Massachusetts Gay and Lesbian Political Caucus Records

  • The Massachusetts Gay and Lesbian Political Caucus was founded in 1973 to fight for social equality for the gay and lesbian community in Massachusetts.

Men of All Colors Together Boston Records

  • Founded in 1980, Men of All Colors Together engages in educational, political, cultural, and social activities which foster supportive environments to overcome racial and cultural inequalities.

National Lawyers Guild. Massachusetts Chapter, Inc. Records

  • The Massachusetts Chapter of the National Lawyers Guild, an association of progressive lawyers, law students, paralegals, judges, legal secretaries, and community activists, has been active since 1937. It seeks justice by working for immigrant and human rights, building community resources through the Street Law Clinics and the Lawyer Referral Service, acting as legal observers at demonstrations, educating the public about judicial nominees, and promoting workers' rights.

Paul F. Perkovic Papers

  • Activist Paul F. Perkovic worked with a number of gay and lesbian organizations in Boston and Cambridge, MA during the late 1970s through the early 1990s, including the Boston Lesbian and Gay Political Alliance, Boston Lesbian and Gay Political Alliance, and Cambridge Lesbian and Gay Alliance.

Positive Directions Records [unprocessed]

  • Founded in 1987, Positive Directions (PD) was a grassroots organization dedicated to improving the quality of life for people living with HIV and AIDS. PD merged with Northern Lights Alternatives New England, Inc. in 1996, and closed in 2003.

Student Homophile League of Boston Records

  • Organized in 1969, the Student Homophile League of Boston assisted gay, Boston-area, college students in the process of coming out, provided a safe place for gay students to meet, and performed educational outreach in the heterosexual community until its disbandment in 1972.

Theatre Offensive Records

  • The Theater Offensive was founded in 1989 by Abraham Rybeck. It produces festivals and individual productions by national and local queer performers, and serves as a development environment for new theatrical work.

Triangle Theater Company Records

  • Founded in 1979 by David Hough, the Triangle Theater Company provided a supportive environment in which gay men and women could work in theater until its closure in 1996.