Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Asian American

A guide to historical materials housed in the Northeastern University Libraries, Archives and Special Collections Department.

Asian American Collections

 Four women on stage performing Chinese dance at Chinese Progressive Association's Fifth Anniversary Celebration, 1982. Photograph from the Chinese Progressive Association Collection.  A rally held against the building of a garage on Parcel C in Boston, 1993. Photograph from the Chinese Progressive Association Collection.Chinese Progressive Association folk singing group performance, 1980. Photograph from the Chinese Progressive Association Collection.Chinese dragon parade in Boston, c. 1985. Photograph from the Chinese Progressive Association Collection.

 

Asian American Resource Workshop, Records [unprocessed]

  • Incorporated in 1979, the Asian American Resource Workshop (AARW) empowers the Asian American community and offers services and programs to address the community’s needs and to promote Asian American culture.

Asian Community Development Corporation (Jacquie L. Kay) Records

  • The Asian Community Development Corporation (ACDC) was founded in 1987 by Jacquie Kay, Tunney Lee, and other Asian American activists with the goal of addressing the affordable housing needs of the Boston Chinatown community.

Chinese Progressive Association Records

  • The Chinese Progressive Association, a grassroots community organization, was founded in 1977 to provide Chinatown residents a forum for their concerns and a way to communicate their vision for the community to officials of the City of Boston and of the Commonwealth. The Association provides support for workers and immigrants, particularly new Asian immigrants, needing translation services or other support.

International Society Records

  • Established in 1979, the International Society's mission includes promoting racial harmony through showcasing Chinese culture to non-Chinese people, and promoting understanding of cultural differences through multicultural arts programming.