Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Politics

A guide to historical materials housed in the Northeastern University Libraries, Archives and Special Collections Department.

Political Collections

   Nelson Merced, right, canvassing for his election as Massachusetts State Representative, ca. 1988. Photograph from the Nelson Merced Collection.Kitty and Michael Dukakis wave from the back of The Duke Express, 1988. Photograph from the Michael S. Dukakis Presidential Campaign Collection.Bernard 'Bunny' Solomon and Senator Edward 'Ted' Kennedy, 1962. Photograph from the Bernard Solomon Collection.oseph Warren, center, at a presidential campaign rally, 1984. Photograph from the Joseph Warren Collection.

 

Michael Aronson Papers

  • Pulitzer Prize winner Michael Aronson (b. ca. 1964) was a member of the speech writing team for Michael S. Dukakis' unsuccessful presidential bid in 1988.

Audre Lorde to Howard Zinn Library of Occupy Boston Records [unprocessed]

  • Occupy Boston was a protest collective that organized at Dewey Square in Boston, MA starting on September 30, 2011 until they were forcibly removed on December 10, 2011. The protesters called for social reform particularly in the area of the financial industry and the activities of special interest groups in politics.

Ronald W. Bailey Oral History Collection

  • Oral histories of three prominent members of Boston's African American community: Milton Derr, a painter, illustrator and retired teacher; Mel King, a community activist and retired professor; and Byron Rushing, Representative for the 9th Suffolk District in the Massachusetts House of Representatives, discuss their lives and work for a book by Ronald W. Bailey with Diane Turner and Robert Hayden, entitled Lower Roxbury: A Community of Treasures in the City of Boston.

Sarah Farnsworth Papers [unprocessed]

  • Sarah Farnsworth worked on Massachusetts Governor Michael Dukakis' unsuccessful presidential campaign in the late 1980s.

Nelson Merced Papers

  • Politician and activist Nelson Merced (b. 1948) is the first Latino candidate elected to the Massachusetts State House of Representatives, serving from 1989 to 1992. He worked with a number of Boston Latino organizations, including La Alianza Hispana, and Inquilinos Boricuas en Acción.

Mike Dukakis for President, Inc. Records

  • Politician and educator Michael Stanley Dukakis (b. 1933) was governor of Massachusetts from 1975-1979 and 1983-1991. In 1988, he unsuccessfully ran for the presidency. Since 1991, Dukakis has been a Distinguished Professor of Political Science at Northeastern. Additional unprocessed material available.

National Lawyers Guild. Massachusetts Chapter, Inc. Records

  • The Massachusetts Chapter of the National Lawyers Guild, an association of progressive lawyers, law students, paralegals, judges, legal secretaries, and community activists, has been active since 1937. It seeks justice by working for immigrant and human rights, building community resources through the Street Law Clinics and the Lawyer Referral Service, acting as legal observers at demonstrations, educating the public about judicial nominees, and promoting workers' rights.

Bernard "Bunny" Solomon Papers

  • Businessman and politician Bernard Solomon (1923-2006), Northeastern Class of 1946, was appointed State Purchasing Agent under Massachusetts Governor Foster Furcolo in 1957, was vice president of the Stop & Shop Companies, and was vice chairman of Patriot Bank, later Bank of New England.

John A. Volpe Papers

  • Politician John A. Volpe (1908-1994) served as Commissioner of Public Works in Massachusetts in 1953, was appointed Federal Highway Commissioner under Dwight D. Eisenhower in 1957, was elected Governor of Massachusetts three times (1960, 1964, and 1966), was appointed Secretary of Transportation under Richard Nixon in 1969, and was appointed Ambassador to Italy in 1973.

Joseph D. Warren Papers

  • African American educator and community activist Joseph D. Warren (1938-2010) was an Associate Professor of Northeastern University's Department of African American Studies, served as a political aide and advisor during Michael S. Dukakis' second and third terms as Massachusetts governor, and established the Balfour Academy, a program providing education opportunities for a successful college career to Boston inner-city youth.