Skip to main content

Sociology : SOCL 7211 Research Methods

A guide to online and print resources in sociology.

Your Texts


Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences, such as

      Introduction to Survey Sampling

     Reliability and Validity Assessment

   Survey Research and Self-Defense Gun Use: An Explanation of Extreme Overestimates

Qualitative Research Methods, including

      Participatory Action Research

      Emotions and Fieldwork

NOTE: Use Illiad or WorldCat Local to request a book if a title in not available (borrowed, missing, on reserve. . .)

Browzine: Your Customized Journal Collection

Snell story about Browzine 


MTM (Media That Matters) Festival covers a number of categories, including racial justice. The film, A Girl LIke Me, examines standards of beauty and its effects on the confidence and self-identity of young black girls.

Major Sociology Journals

List of journal Publications of the ASA (American Sociological Association)

Is this journal academic/peer-reviewed? Search the title in Ulrich's Directory

Is it available through NU? Search the journal titles in the E-journal Finder

ASA Citation Style pages at
Univ. of Wisconsin-Parkside and
Purdue OWL.

Citation Guidelines for Census documents 

Featured Research Tools

  • For late-breaking news and analysis:

Mideastwire provides daily English-language summaries of key political, cultural, economic, and opinion pieces produced by the media in 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Diaspora.

Subscribe! Send a blank e-mail message to 

Check the Topics page for the scope of coverage in Global Issues in Context: International Perspectives on News and Events (courtesy of the Boston Regional Library System). Good resource for investigating topics ranging from the Arab Sprint to health (and healtcare) issue.

Online news, such as BBC News--World or CSB News (The latter links to an Occupy and protest music story). Sometimes a news article provides leads to research. Also check the resources on the Music Subject Guide

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) is a membership based, non-profit data archives located at the University of Michigan. Sign up with your NU e-mail account for acess (and downloading) of datasets and related studies.

iPOLL Databank is a searchable databse from the Roper Center at the University of Connecticut. Data from national opinion polls, from 1935 to the present. Click on Health Care on the Hot Topics List

  • Specialized databases for your research include

Sociological Abstracts has a Basic Search (helpful for "first person shooter") and a follow-up using the Search Within option to further narrow down results.

Full-text article collection from Sociology ProQuest, from Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

Don't forget to also search  Communications and Mass Media Complete  which indexes research in communication and mass media and also  provides full text for 326 journals. NOTE: There's a conference paper for female FPS, "Shoot First, Ask Questions Later: Motivations of a Women's Gaming Clan."

GenderWatch is included in the ProQuest family of Social Sciences databases (along with Sociological Abstracts). Before searching the Social Sciences group of databases, don't forget to select the limit feature for Peer reviewed and Scholarly journals (leave Full text alone)

                   NUcat, for books, such as

 including titles such as On the Frontlines: Gender, War, and the Post-Conflict Process. NOTE: the book is being processed, you can go to Nexpress to make an online request for a copy from one of our affiliated libraries. It takes 3-4 days to receive the book.

  • Use the Google-like search tool on the library homepage


The Google search rules apply with this search box: more precise phrase searching uses quotation marks:  "social class" "law firms"    

NOTE: click on the Check for full text link--> you will be directed to the e-journal article.