Skip to main content

Sociology : SOC 2321 Research Methods

A guide to online and print resources in sociology.

Introduction to Sociology

ASA (American Sociological Association) and 

Sociology Majors Before and After Graduation

the Careers in Sociology page

OOH (Occupational Outlook Handbook)

Researching prospective graduate schools? Use the database, Dissertations and Theses--Global 
to locate institutions and faculty advising others with research interests similar to yours.

WORK

Descriptions of careers/work/jobs or professions may be found in the 
Occupational Outlook Handbook published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics

Research Paper. . . .

First time writing a research paper? Research Fundamentals (formerly the First Year Writing Guide provides a number of pointers and advice. The PLAN  tab at the top of the page is especially useful when getting started.

Helpful Hints from Sage Research Methods Online include:

Major Sociology Journals

List of journal Publications of the ASA (American Sociological Association)

Is this journal academic/peer-reviewed?
Chart comparing scholarly v. non-scholarly publications

or search the journal title in
Ulrich's Directory

ASA Citation Style page at  
Purdue OWL.
Coates Library, Trinity University

NOTE: Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date citation option in EbscoHost databases produces citations similar to ASA style.

 

Finding Recent Journal Articles

Suggested databases for locating this type of journal article include:

How to find articles in recommended journals:

1. use keywords and limit the search to the article title

2. AND put in journal titles. Here's a sample search from Sociological Abstracts.

What does a peer-reviewed article look like?

Locate the full text for
    Kerrissey, Jasmine. 2015 "Collective Labor Rights and Income Inequality." American Sociological Review  80(3)3:626-653. DOI:
     10.1177/0003122415583649.

This is an example of research article format.

Another approach to locate full text at NU--Use the Google Scholar @ NU search for "collective labor rights" Kerrissey

 

 Check the chart comparing
Scholarly v. Non-Scholarly publications

and visit Research Tutorials 

Literature Review

.

Sage Research Methods is a collection of reference books, handbooks and manuals on research. Useful Project Planners give brief overviews of research, such as literature review (and how to have a successful one), sampling and online surveys.

Data Visualization

Visit the GIS and Data Visualization subject guide for more information and contacts.

From the Crisis Trends (see Human Services Subject Guide for the TED Talk on "How Data From a Crisis Text Line is Saving Lives")

Global Information Systems (GIS)

Visit the GIS and Digital Mapping subject guide for more information and contacts.

Scholar OneSearch can find books or journals

I have a citation . .

Click on Browse


Search by title of book, title of journal, title of film or music

We have print and ebooks in the system.