Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.

Remote Teaching and Learning Resources: Course Materials and Online Collections

Accessing Online Collections

Northeastern University Library provides electronic access to a number of databases, collections, and other resources to members of the Northeastern community. These include:

  • Databases that provide access to e-books, articles, streaming videos, and other research materials.
  • A large number of e-books that can be found in Scholar OneSearch.
  • Digitized versions of some of our print materials through HathiTrust.
  • Access to digitized research and archival materials from Northeastern through the Digital Repository Service.

Learn more about these resources and how to utilize our collections as course materials for your classes below.

E-Books and HathiTrust

Scholar OneSearch logoNortheastern University Library has thousands of e-books available in its collection. Search Scholar OneSearch and look for the Online Access link to view a title.

 

HathiTrust logo A partnership between libraries to digitize and share their print collections, the HathiTrust Digital Library offers access to text materials like books, documents, and journals. Links to HathiTrust versions of print books in our collection are linked in Scholar OneSearch and Northeastern users can also log in and search HathiTrust's collections on its own site. Librarians have also created this step-by-step guide for accessing books via HathiTrust.

Using Library Resources in Online Classes

The library holds over 500,000 licensed e-books in a wide variety of disciplines, many of which permit unlimited simultaneous use, making them good options for assigned course readings.

Whether you have a specific book in mind or want to see what's available on a particular topic, the best place to start is Scholar OneSearch. To filter your results so you see only e-books, choose "e-Books" under Filter My Results.

When you find a book that interests you, click on the Online Access link. If access to the e-book is limited to one or a few simultaneous users, this information will be listed:

While you can certainly still assign a reading from this book to your students, they may have to wait their turn to access it - just like if it were a physical copy on reserve in the library. But an e-book that doesn't mention limited access will not have this problem. (Interested in seeing if it's possible to increase the number of simultaneous users for a book you've found? Contact your subject librarian!)

Another place you can start your search is our Books & E-Books Directory, which is browsable as an A-Z list of our major e-book packages, or you can limit the list to specific disciplines.

To link to an e-book in Blackboard or on your syllabus, you will need a "permalink" — a URL that is not tied to a specific search session. Click here for our guide to Finding and Creating Permalinks.

There are many e-books in the public domain, too - check out the Internet Archive and Project Gutenberg for millions of texts.