It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
World Languages: Home
A guide to resources and research on language learning.
This guide introduces resources to support your research topics and learning in languages and literatures. Use the tabs at the top of the page to help you locate articles, books, language learning tools, and more.
If you need assistance with your research or help using library resources, please contact me, schedule an appointment, or Ask a Librarian.
Scholarly articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers from the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
Includes phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Covers various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Core index for literature, folklore, language, and linguistics, with good coverage of many additional cultural forms like film, music, and theater. Includes listings for journal articles, books, proceedings, book chapters, and dissertations back to 1926.
Forms the basis for the MLA Bibliography. Useful for finding a publishing venue for your work.
Search for a Book or Video
Search for books, videos, and journals in the library catalog section of Scholar OneSearch.
Browse or search by language or country for profiles listing key information for each language, including number of speakers, dialects, and maps of where it is spoken.
Search Scholar OneSearch by topic or film title. Select the Video filter under Material Type to limit your results to films and other video or audio resources. Resources that say "Online access" means the film can be streamed remotely.