Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Go Beyond Google
Googling when we need to know something has become second nature for us. But did you know that Google only returns a small fraction of the information that is out there? A lot of the best resources available online are hidden behind pay walls. Because you are a member of the Northeastern University community, you have access to specialized databases that retrieve the most relevant information that will never be available through a Google search. Most of these databases are available to you off campus by logging in with your myNortheastern username and password. This page will highlight some of the best databases you can use to support your research as health sciences entrepeneurs.
Here is an alphabetical listing of all the databases you have access to through your Northeastern account.
Search for articles, books, media and more with Scholar OneSearch.
Scholar OneSearch is the search engine for the Northeastern University Library. You can use a variety of terms to search for information relevant to your research.
For example, I did a search for: health science entrepreneurship. The following articles were returned on my first page of results:
For additional help with searching using Scholar OneSearch, see the Top Ten Search Tips guide.
Company and Market Research
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal that integrates quantitative data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single platform that is easy to use and visually appealing. This database is helpful for market and industry research.
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
MarketLine Advantage provides industry, company, country, and financial data for every major market in the world. Report include company SWOT analyses, detailed company profiles, case studies, financial deals, country analyses, and industry profiles. This is a great resource for doing research on specific companies, especially publicly traded corporations.
PitchBook delivers data and research covering private capital markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A transactions.
Access to PitchBook requires separate registration with a Northeastern or NCH email address.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
PrivCo is a great resource for researching private companies that are non-publicly traded corporations - including family-owned, private equity-owned, and venture-backed companies. PrivCo reports offer information related to financials, investors, fundraising activity, company organization, and industry information.To use this database, you will need to sign up for a free account using your Northeastern email address.
Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Passport GMID is best to use when researching international markets and industries. It provides international marketing data and analysis as well as information on countries, consumers, and industries.
Health Science Research
Web of Science
Web of Science provides articles from scholarly journals related to a broad range of interdisciplinary fields. Its strengths are in natural sciences, health sciences, engineering, computer science, materials sciences.
PubMed includes biomedical literature from life science journals, online books, and Medline.
For more information on health science research, please see the Health Sciences Librarian, for futher research guides or to schedule an appointment.