It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Game Design: Home
A guide to librarian-recommended research methods and resources for game design and theory.
Scholarly and trade articles, books, and conference proceedings in the fields of visual and applied arts.
This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
Journal and trade articles, conference proceedings, books and more covering engineering disciplines, including computers, data processing, and electronics and communications.
A broad view of engineering is included with research information from the fields of nanotechnology, bioengineering, food science, medical devices, and more.
Combining your search with INSPEC adds a comprehensive database of physics, computer science and electrical engineering research and professional literature to your results. Use the toggle checkboxes to include or exclude Compendex or Inspec from your search.
Coverage: 1969 to present, including some older backfiles. Author profiles and citation counts are also available.
Publications in electrical engineering, computer science, information technology, and electronics from Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) journals, transactions, magazines, and conference proceedings. Maximum number of users at a time: 15.
A database that includes articles, journals, books, and more for psychology and related disciplines. Published by the American Psychological Association. Useful for researching psychological aspects of games.
Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
PubMed is a health-focused database from the National Library of Medicine, encompassing Medline,a health information clearinghouse of articles from the National Library of Medicine, plus articles deposited by authors and publishers as part of National Institutes of Health funding requirements. This is a good resource for articles focused on the health impacts of games.
Need help developing a research topic?
Consider using some of the strategies below to help you get started:
Think about something that interests you and would interest others in the field. Talk with instructors, classmates, or librarians, or look over course readings.
Review recent issues of journals or industry periodicals to explore recent articles in the field. Search by keywords related to your topic in a database and note which journals publish articles of interest. Search for those journals in the E-Journal Finder and view recent issues' table of contents. Here are a few sample journals:
Browse subject headings in databases. Subject headings are very specific terms that have been applied to an item (a book, an article, etc.) by a cataloger to summarize that item's content. Look for an online thesaurus in a database or perform a keyword search and look for the subject heading field in a few relevant items in your search results. Here are a few sample subject headings in Scholar OneSearch: