Research Subject Guides: Communication Sciences & Disorders: Evidence Based Practice

PICO Worksheet

PICO Worksheet

Evidence Based Medicine Terminology

EBM Toolkit
from the University of Alberta

Best Bets for Locating Evidence Based Medicine Information

PubMed (NU customized) This link opens in a new window
Use the "Clinical Queries" link to search for a specific study category or to locate systematic reviews.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 100 full-text Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Also, under Search Options, limit your search to "Evidence-Based Practice".
Nursing dissertations, National League for Nursing and American Nurses' Association publications, selected conference proceedings, evidence-based Care Sheets, and 250+ research instrument descriptions. Features CINAHL Headings - controlled vocabulary search terms for more precise, comprehensive search results.
View tutorials on searching this database
ClinicalKey (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Authoritative evidence-based medical information. Includes 500 full-text medical journals, 900 leading medical texts, 15,000 med/surg videos, practice guidelines, 15,000 patient education handouts, current drug information, 5 million medical images, medical news.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Full text.
Terms of Use
http://hdl.handle.net/2047/d20001143
View tutorials about searching this database.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
High quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.
Natural Medicine is a merger of two resources, Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive databases.

Additional EBM Resources

ClinicalTrials.gov
"ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world". Lists studies by condition, drug intervention, sponsor and location.
NSW Speech Pathology EBP Network
PsycBITE
PsycBITE™ is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment.
more...less...
The types of studies contained on this database are Systematic Reviews, Randomised Controlled Trials (RCT), Non-Randomised Controlled Trials (non-RCT), Case Series (CS), and Single Subject Design (SSD).
These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour.
SpeechBITE
speechBITE™ is a database that provides open access to a catalogue of Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy across the scope of Speech Pathology practice. This is an EBP initiative between the University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.
more...less...
Methodological ratings are included to allow you to discern the scientific quality of each research study. This will help you to find the best evidence to support your clinical decision making.