Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.

Chemistry: Articles and Databases

A guide to online and print resources in chemistry.

List of Key Resources for Articles in Chemistry

These licensed resources are for current NU affiliates only.

SciFinder-n

For a comprehensive chemistry literature search. Provides searching of Chemical Abstracts, 1907-present. Note: See Use Restrictions and instructions for registration for first-time users.

American Chemical Society Journals 

Note: Selected titles are available only. Includes journal archives, containing over one hundred years of coverage.

Royal Society of Chemistry Journals 

Note: Selected titles are available only. Includes journal archives,

Knovel Library 

Interactive books and databases for scientific and engineering information. Chemical property data, chemical equations and digital graphs. Analyze data, sort, filter and export from 'live tables', resolve equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments.

Nature Journals Online 

The flagship journal Nature is is the most highly cited interdisciplinary science journal according to ISI's journal citation reports; Northeastern's subscription includes a number of sister titles-- Nature Chemistry, Nature Chemical Biology, Nature Climate Change, and more.

Web of Science

Use for finding publishing trends and impact factors, or as an article database. This multidisciplinary database covers 8,500 high impact research journals. 

Compendex with Inspec (EI Village) 

A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database, containing over 9 million records. References over 5,000 international engineering sources including journals, conferences, and trade publications. 1969 to present, updated weekly.

Academic Search Complete

Searches more than 6,000 scholarly journals on all academic subjects. (Includes non-scholarly content as well.) An easy way to get full-text results from a chemistry literature search, although it's less comprehensive than a SciFinder search. 

Business Source Complete 

Business news and research; for searches on the chemical industry.

Nexis Uni

Newspapers, periodicals, public records, and legal documents, often within 24 hours of publication (sources from LexisNexis). Mostly full text.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Need an article?  Request articles that are not available at NU through ILLiadour interlibrary loan service.

Featured Resource: JoVE, The Journal of Visualized Experiments

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) is a science video resource that includes a variety of resources for use in the classroom and in the lab. It has two components:

  1. Science Education Video CollectionTeaching-focused videos including concept animations, ‘scientist in action’ videos to see concepts applied, and lab manual videos that cover preparation procedures for common labs
  2. Video JournalA peer-reviewed video methods journal, consisting of video demonstrations and detailed text protocols of new and standard methods in physical and life sciences. Students and researchers can see the details of experiments and concepts, in addition to text-based descriptions.

Ask a Librarian

Get Help from a Librarian 

Phone, Text, Chat, Email, Visit