Research Subject Guides: Entrepreneurship and Innovation : Entrepreneurship

Resources at NU

BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Market research reports and forecasts

Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS)
News as well as company and financial data from more than 80 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and Africa. Also known as ISI Emerging Markets.
Factiva
Includes full-text of the Wall Street Journal. For quick searching within the WSJ, use sc=j as a search term. Example: sc=j and starbucks.
more...less...
If you know a publication's code, you can search for articles within it without having to select it from the source list. Use this format: sc=j and YourKeywordHere

Below are some popular publications with their codes.

sc=J (Wall Street Journal)
sc=NYTF (New York Times)
sc=B (Barron's)
sc=BW (Business Week)
sc=WP (Washington Post)
sc=FB (Forbes)
Business Plans Handbook
A collection of actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses throughout North America.
Derwent Innovations Index
Derwent Innovations Index® facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering.
Compendex
A comprehensive engineering database.

GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE is an informative resource containing nearly 300,000 records, with full text for selected titles, and searchable cited references with library links for more than 200 additional titles
A free version of this resource is also available.

ACM Digital Library
Provides access to the publications of the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery).

Census Business Builder
Designed for small business owners. Select a geographic location and an industry to generate maps and reports.

Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
International marketing data, analysis for countries, consumers, and industries, for example, searching of industries and products in order to locate leading companies in different regions of the world.
- What's included:Charts and data exporting available
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new window
Search opinion polls from all over the world, using this database from Cornell University. Poll results from news organizations, governments, private foundations, academic institutions, and more. The scope of topics spans politics, culture, workplaces, and social life. 1930s to the present.
To learn more, view Roper's video tutorials.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
A mapping and data visualization application including demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), CDC PLACES health data, and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories and detailed lifestyle data. This resource is limited to 2 users at a time. Registration is required to save work between sessions.