Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

We are still offering consultation services during the COVID-19 move to online instruction. Please feel free to reach out for virtual appointments! For more information on library services and resources, please click here.

Anthropology: Reference Tools

A guide to print and online resources in anthropology

Collections from HRAF

Open Access--no user name/password required. Open Access--no user name/password required.

Click on the graphic above to see a database with over 100 years of research from the Human Relations Area Files, including Topical Summaries.
 
Click on the graphic for the online course is a brief introduction to the world of ethnography-based cross-cultural research. 

Reference ebooks

A selection of print and online reference sources.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries on the Web

African Pygmies, "a website dedicated to the hunter-gatherer peoples living in the Central African rainforests, commonly called pygmies."

American Anthropological Association Style Guide 

Encyclopaedia of Islam (Brill)

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences --IBSS

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2d edition  -- Use the publication search box to find articles related to Anthropology. 

Osford Bibliographies provide annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia for the a number disciplines, including Anthropology, Atlantic History, Public Health, Sociology.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America

The Scout Report is a current awareness service updated weekly at the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus. This respected resource provides up-to-date information about research tools and webpages. Their Selection Critera, shows their guidelines for evaluating webpages.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is a useful starting point for reviewing concepts, with articles on colonialism, African philosophy, and race written by authorities on those subjects.

Anthropology Materials by Call Number

GN1-890 Anthropology
      
GN49-298 Physical anthropology. Somatology
      GN51-59 Anthropometry
      GN62.8-265 Human variation i
ncluding growth, physical form, skeleton, nervous system, skin, etc. 
      
GN269-279 Race (General) 
      GN280.7 Man as an animal. Simian traits versus human traits 
      GN281-289 Human evolution 
      GN282-286.7 Fossil man. Human paleontology 
      GN296-296.5 Medical anthropology 
      GN301-674 Ethnology. Social and cultural anthropology 
      GN357-367 Culture and cultural processes
Including social change, structuralism, diffusion, etc. 
      GN378-396 Collected ethnographies 
      GN397-397.7 Applied anthropology 
      GN406-517 Cultural traits, customs, and institutions 
      GN406-442 Technology. Material culture 
Including food, shelter, fire, tools, etc.
      GN448-450.8 Economic organization. Economic anthropology
      GN451-477.7 Intellectual life
Including communication, recreation, philosophy, religion, knowledge, etc.
      GN478-491.7 Social organization
      GN492-495.2 Political organization. Political anthropology
      GN495.4-498 Societal groups, ethnocentrism, diplomacy, warfare, etc.
      GN502-517 Psychological anthropology
      GN537-674 Ethnic groups and races
      GN550-674 By region or country
      GN700-890 Prehistoric archaeology